Identifying whether a product like Papa John’s breadsticks is vegan or not can be a challenging task.
This difficulty often arises because manufacturers are not transparent about the nature and source of their ingredients.
Fear not, this article aims to uncover the truth and support you in your compassionate, vegan lifestyle.
Are Papa John’s Breadsticks Vegan?
No, Papa John’s breadsticks are not vegan.
The reason they are not vegan is due to the presence of sugar, which is often processed using bone char, an animal-derived substance.
Are Papa John’s Breadsticks Cruelty-Free?
No, Papa John’s Breadsticks are not cruelty-free. Here’s why.
GMOs are tested on animals to ensure their safety for consumption by humans. Two of the most common GMO ingredients are sugar and soybeans, including soybean by-products such as — you guessed — soybean oil.
What Are Papa John’s Breadsticks Made Of?
Before we dive into other Papa John’s products and vegan alternatives, let’s take a closer look at the ingredients in these breadsticks:
- Unbleached enriched wheat flour
- Soybean oil
Unbleached Enriched Wheat Flour
This ingredient is made from wheat and serves as the base of the breadsticks. It is vegan because it comes from plants.
Water is a universal solvent and is vegan and cruelty-free.
Sugar is a sweetening agent. Some sugar is processed using bone char, making its vegan status questionable. As Papa John’s doesn’t specify what kind of sugar it uses, its vegan status remains unknown. It’s probably GMO though.
Soybean oil is derived from soybeans, which makes it plant based. It is, however, sometimes processed using animal-derived substances, which would make it non-vegan. It’s also non-cruelty-free because soybeans are overwhelmingly GMO.
Salt is a mineral and is vegan and cruelty-free.
Yeast is a fungus and is considered vegan and cruelty-free.
Other Papa John’s Products
Is Papa John’s Vegan Cheese Pizza Vegan?
Yes, this vegan pizza is a pleaser for the vegan community!
Is Papa John’s Garlic Dipping Sauce Vegan?
No, unfortunately this sauce isn’t vegan because it contains dairy.
Is Papa John’s Garden Fresh Pizza Vegan?
No this pizza is not vegan. It contains cheese, an animal-derived product that is not vegan.
Vegan Alternatives to Papa John’s Breadsticks
If you’re looking for vegan-friendly options to Papa John’s breadsticks, there are plenty of alternative brands out there:
- Blaze Pizza’s Vegan Breadsticks: Made with vegan dough and vegan garlic sauce
- Amy’s Vegan Margherita Pizza: With vegan cheese and a vegan crust
- Daiya’s Cheezy Bread: Made with vegan cheese and a gluten-free crust
Navigating the world of vegan options at pizza chains like Papa John’s can be tricky.
While Papa John’s breadsticks are not vegan, there are other delicious and ethical alternatives available. Hooray!
Always remember, your food choices have the power to create a kinder world for all beings.