Is Nature’s Own Bread Vegan and Cruelty-Free?

September 13, 2023

Figuring out if Nature’s Own Bread is vegan can be a real head-scratcher.

Manufacturers often make it difficult by hiding the true nature and source of their ingredients.

But worry not! This article is here to dig deep and help you maintain your vegan lifestyle.

Is Nature’s Own Bread Vegan?

No, Nature’s Own Bread is not strictly vegan.

Most of Nature’s Own’s products contain dough conditioners, including sodium stearoyl lactylate, calcium stearoyl-2-lactylate, monoglycerides, calcium iodate, ethoxylated mono and diglycerides, calcium peroxide, datem, all of which may be derived from animal sources, making it not strictly vegan.

Additionally, the presence of sugar may affect its vegan status if the sugar is processed with bone char. There’s usually no way to tell for sure, so strict vegans should avoid sugar that isn’t organic, raw, or unrefined.

Is Nature’s Own Bread Cruelty-Free?

Yes, based on the ingredients, Nature’s Own Bread does not test on animals making it cruelty-free.

Furthermore, Nature’s Own is verified by the Non-GMO Project, so we know none of its ingredients come from GMOs, which are tested on animals.

What Is Nature’s Own Bread Made Of?

The Healthy White loaf from Nature’s Own is made from the following ingredients:

  • Unbleached enriched flour
  • Water
  • Sugar
  • Wheat gluten
  • Cellulose
  • Yeast
  • Calcium sulfate
  • Salt
  • Cultured wheat flour
  • Soybean oil
  • Calcium carbonate
  • Guar gum
  • Dough conditioners
  • Vinegar
  • Monocalcium phosphate
  • Sodium citrate
  • Niacin
  • Iron (ferrous sulfate)
  • Thiamin hydrochloride
  • Riboflavin
  • Soy lecithin
  • Folic acid
  • Natamycin

Unbleached Enriched Flour

This is a blend of wheat flour and other nutrients. It’s plant based and vegan.


Water is universally vegan and plays the role of a solvent in the bread.


Sugar can be plant based but sometimes is processed using bone char, making its vegan status questionable.

Wheat Gluten

Derived from wheat, this ingredient is plant based and vegan.


This is a plant-based ingredient used as a filler or thickener and is vegan.


Yeast is a fungus and is considered vegan.

Calcium Sulfate

This is a mineral ingredient and is generally considered vegan.


Salt is a mineral and is vegan.

Cultured Wheat Flour

This is wheat flour that has been fermented and is vegan.

Soybean Oil

This is a plant-based oil and is vegan.

Calcium Carbonate

This is a naturally occurring mineral and is vegan.

Guar Gum

This is a plant-based thickening agent and is vegan.

Dough Conditioners

These can contain a variety of ingredients, some of which may be animal derived, making it not strictly vegan.


Vinegar is made from fermented alcohol and is vegan.

Monocalcium Phosphate

Monocalcium phosphate is a mineral-based ingredient and is vegan.

Sodium Citrate

Sodium citrate is a salt derived from citric acid and is vegan.


Niacin is a form of Vitamin B3 and is generally vegan.

Iron (Ferrous Sulfate)

Iron is a mineral and is vegan.

Thiamin Hydrochloride

Thiamin hydrochloride is a form of Vitamin B1 and is generally vegan.


Riboflavin is a form of Vitamin B2 and is generally vegan.

Soy Lecithin

Soy lecithin ingredient is usually vegan, coming from soybeans.

Folic Acid

Folic acid is a form of Vitamin B9 and is generally vegan.


Natamycin is an antifungal agent and is generally considered vegan.

Nature’s Own Varieties

Is Nature’s Own Whole Wheat Bread Vegan? 

We cannot guarantee Nature’s Own Whole Wheat Bread is vegan due to similar questionable ingredients, such as dough conditioners.

Is Nature’s Own Honey Wheat Vegan? 

No, Nature’s Own Honey Wheat isn’t vegan because it contains honey.

Is Nature’s Own Butter Bread Vegan? 

No, Nature’s Own Butter Bread isn’t vegan because it contains dairy ingredients derived from animals.

Vegan Alternatives to Nature’s Own Bread


While Nature’s Own Healthy White Loaf may not be strictly vegan food, it does appear to be cruelty-free. There are a few ingredients that could be the main points of concern.

Luckily, there are plenty of vegan bread brands everywhere you look these days.

Always read the labels carefully to make sure you’re staying true to your vegan lifestyle.