Figuring out whether Guittard chocolate chips are safe for vegans to consume can be challenging.
Makers of chocolate chips often hide their ingredients behind vague terms such as “natural flavors,” and even when they do list them, it’s not always clear what those ingredients are.
To make sure that you’re only eating food that aligns with your vegan diet and ethics, I’ve investigated the ingredients and production processes of Guittard chocolate.
Here’s what I found.
Is Guittard Chocolate Vegan?
No. Guittard Chocolate Company chocolate is not vegan.
Guittard chocolate is a San Francisco-based chocolate company that offers different types of chocolate products, including baking chocolate, chocolate chips, drinking chocolate, and professional-grade chocolate for use in candy making and other confectionery applications.
Unfortunately for vegans, many Guittard chocolate products are not suitable for a vegan diet, thanks to cane sugar, milk, and other dairy products.
Milk and its derivatives are of course animal products. Many vegans avoid refined cane sugar because the refining process often uses bone char, which is derived from ground-up animal bones. Unless sugar is labeled “organic,” “unrefined,” or “raw,” then it is likely that it was processed with bone char.
But wait! Do not despair. Guittard does have a few vegan-friendly options. The company’s Organic Unsweetened Cocoa Powder, Sante 72% Cacao with Coconut Sugar Baking Chips, and 100% Cacao Chocolate Baking Chips are free from animal products and are gluten free.
It’s important to note though that these products are made on equipment that also processes milk chocolate and other dairy ingredients, so the risk of cross contamination is high.
If you have severe milk allergies or are strictly vegan for ethical reasons and avoid cross contamination with animal products, then you may want to avoid Guittard chocolate completely.
Is Guittard Chocolate Cruelty Free?
Yes! Guittard chocolate is cruelty free.
Guittard chocolate is not tested on animals at any stage of production. It also does not contain ingredients, such as artificial colors, that are regularly tested on animals.
Animal testing is a gruesome and outdated practice that has no place in the modern world. It only leaves innocent animals disfigured, maimed, and even dead. There are alternatives to animal testing that are just as effective, if not more so.
Thankfully, more and more brands are realizing this and are choosing to manufacture their products without harming animals.
What Is Guittard Chocolate Made Of?
Here are the ingredients of Guittard Chocolate Choc-Au-Lait Baking Chips:
- Cane sugar
- Palm kernel
- Palm oils
- Cocoa butter
- Nonfat milk
- Milk fat (butter)
- Sunflower lecithin
- Tahitian vanilla
Let’s break down each ingredient of Guittard Chocolate Choc-Au-Lait chocolate chips:
Cane sugar is a type of sugar that is derived from sugarcane. It is often used in baking and candy-making because it has a sweet taste and dissolves easily.
Cane sugar is not vegan because its refining process often uses bone char, which is derived from animals. Unless it is labeled as “organic,” “unrefined,” or “raw,” then it is likely to be processed with bone char.
Palm kernel is a type of palm fruit that is often used in cosmetics and as a food additive. Palm kernel is vegan.
Palm oil is a type of edible vegetable oil that is extracted from the fruit of palm trees. Palm oil is vegan.
Cocoa butter is a type of fat that is extracted from cocoa beans. Cocoa Butter is often used in cosmetics and as a food additive. Cocoa butter is vegan.
Nonfat milk is a type of cow’s milk that has had the fat removed. Nonfat milk is not vegan.
Milk fat (butter)
Milk fat, or butter, is a type of cow’s milk that has had the water removed. It is used as a food additive. Milk fat is not vegan.
Sunflower lecithin is a type of emulsifier that is derived from sunflowers. Sunflower lecithin is vegan.
Tahitian vanilla is a type of vanilla bean that is native to Tahiti. It is used as a flavoring agent. Tahitian vanilla is vegan.
Why Isn’t Guittard Chocolate Vegan?
Guittard Chocolate is not vegan because it contains refined cane sugar, milk, and other dairy-based ingredients.
Milk and its derivatives are ingredients that vegans actively avoid because they come from animals. Vegans also avoid cane sugar because the refining process often uses bone char, which is a product made from ground-up animal bones.
While Guittard’s mainstream products are not vegan, the company does offer a few vegan-friendly options for those who are looking for them, such as unsweetened vegan chocolate chips and organic 100% cocoa powder.
Are Guittard Chocolate Baking Chips Vegan?
No. Guittard’s Baking Chips contain cane sugar and milk, so they are not vegan chocolate chips.
These baking chocolate chips are not safe for vegan consumption.
Are Guittard Green Mint Chocolate Chips Vegan?
No. Guittard Green Mint Chocolate Chips contain cane sugar, whey, and nonfat milk.
These baking chocolate chips are not safe for vegan consumption.
Are Guittard Bittersweet Chocolate Baking Bars 70% Cacao Vegan?
No. Guittard Bittersweet Chocolate Baking Bars 70% Cacao contain cane sugar.
These baking chocolate bars are not safe for vegan consumption.
Is Guittard Grand Cacao Drinking Chocolate Vegan?
No. Guittard Grand Cacao Drinking Chocolate contains cane sugar.
This drinking chocolate powder is not safe for vegan consumption.
Are Guittard Milk Chocolate Baking Chips Vegan?
No. Guittard Milk Chocolate Baking Chips contain refined cane sugar and milk.
These milk chocolate chips are not safe for vegan consumption.
Are 91% Cacao Nocturne Extra Dark Chocolate Bars Vegan?
No. Guittard 91% Cacao Nocturne Extra Dark Chocolate bars contain cane sugar.
These chocolate bars are not safe for vegan consumption.
Are Guittard Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips Vegan?
No. Guittard Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips contain refined cane sugar processed with bone char. Guittard doesn’t currently have vegan chocolate chips on offer. While these are dairy-free chocolate chips, they’re made on the same equipment as products that contain milk, and the risk of cross contamination is high.
These dairy-free chocolate chips are not safe for vegan consumption.
Are Guittard Semisweet Chocolate Organic Wafers 66% Cacao Vegan?
Yes! These vegan chocolate wafers are made with organic cocoa butter and organic cane sugar that is not processed with bone char.
Guittard Semisweet Chocolate Organic Wafers 66% Cacao are safe for vegan consumption, but be mindful that there is still a high risk of cross contamination.
Is Guittard Cocoa Rouge Unsweetened Cocoa Powder Vegan?
Yes! Guittard Cocoa Rouge Unsweetened Cocoa Powder is so vegan that there’s no risk of cross contamination. According to Guittard, this cocoa powder is “made in a segregated processing area that does not contain any of the 9 major allergens.”
This Guittard Chocolate Company unsweetened chocolate is safe for vegan consumption.
Vegan Alternatives to Guittard Chocolate
Guittard chocolate chips may not be vegan, but if you’re looking for vegan chocolate beyond Guittard’s few vegan options, there are plenty of vegan-friendly and dairy-free chocolate chips and chocolate products on the market. Here are some of my favorite dairy-free chocolate brands:
- Hu Hazelnut Coffee Dark Chocolate
- Hu Hazelnut Vanilla Crunch Dark Chocolate
- Lindt Excellence 70% Cocoa Dark Chocolate Candy Bar
- Green & Black’s Organic Dark Chocolate Bar, 85% Cacao
- Endangered Species Chocolate Oat Milk + Dark Chocolate
- Endangered Species Chocolate Vibrant Cherries + Dark Chocolate
These are just a few of the available vegan chocolate brands providing dairy-free chocolate made with organic cane sugar or no sugar at all. With so many delicious options to choose from, there’s no need to compromise your values in order to enjoy a delicious treat.
So, there you have it! Guittard chocolate is not vegan because most of its products either contain milk products and cane sugar or are processed on equipment where milk-based products are also produced. However, there are plenty of other vegan-friendly chocolate chips and semisweet baking chips brands on the market that are just as delicious. Be sure to check out the ones I’ve listed above or do some exploring of your own to find the perfect vegan chocolate brands for you. And as always, thanks for reading!