Trying to work out if Wendy’s Frosty is safe for vegans to consume can be a bit tough.
Chain restaurants are often vague about their ingredients. Frosties are a type of thick milkshake or ice cream treat, but with all different kinds of milk these days, you just never know.
To make sure that you are only eating food that aligns with your vegan diet and ethics, I’ve looked into the ingredients and production processes of Wendy’s Frosty.
Here’s what I found.
Are Frosties Vegan?
No. Frosties are not vegan.
The Frosty is Wendy’s classic frozen dessert. It is a treat that is loved by both kids and adults alike. Unfortunately, it is not suitable for people following a vegan diet.
Frosties contain several animal-derived ingredients, including milk, whey, mono- and diglycerides, and refined sugar.
Milk and cream are both dairy products, mono- and diglycerides are often made from animal fats, and refined sugar is often processed using animal bone char, a black, porous, and granular material produced by burning the bones of cows, pigs, and other animals.
These ingredients make Frosty an unsuitable choice for vegans. However, there are some vegan-friendly frozen desserts available elsewhere that are just as delicious.
Are Frosties Cruelty Free?
No. Frosties are not cruelty free.
Wendy’s Frosty is not tested on animals at any point in its production, but it does contain ingredients that are routinely tested on animals, such as artificial colors.
Animal testing is a cruel and outdated practice that should be stopped. It only leaves innocent animals disfigured, maimed, and dead. There are alternative methods that do not involve animals and are more reliable. So there is no reason for food brands to continue using this barbaric practice.
What Is Wendy’s Frosty Made Of?
Here is the Wendy’s Strawberry Frosty ingredients list:
- Corn syrup
- Nonfat milk
- Guar gum
- Mono- and diglycerides
- Cellulose gum
- Calcium sulfate
- Sodium citrate
- Natural flavor
- Annatto extract (color)
- Vitamin A palmitate
- Strawberry puree
- Malic acid
- Potassium sorbate (preservative)
- Red 40
Let’s break down each ingredient of a Strawberry Frosty:
Milk protein is a type of protein that is found in milk. It is not vegan.
Sugar is a type of carbohydrate that is found in many plants. It is often refined using animal bone char, which makes it not vegan. Unless labeled “unrefined,” “raw,” or “organic,” sugar is probably not vegan.
Corn syrup is a type of sugar that is made from corn. It is vegan.
Cream is a dairy product. It is used to thicken and produce a creamy texture. It is not vegan.
Nonfat milk is a type of milk that has had the fat removed. It is not vegan.
Whey is a type of protein that is found in milk. It is used as a thickening agent. Whey is not vegan.
Guar gum is a type of carbohydrate that is often derived from corn. It is used as a stabilizer. Guar gum is vegan.
Mono- and diglycerides
Mono- and diglycerides are a type of fat that can be derived from both plants and animals. They are used as an emulsifier in Frosty. Mono- and diglycerides from animals are more commonly used because they are cheaper, which means they’re not vegan-friendly.
Cellulose gum is a type of carbohydrate that is found in plants. It is used as a stabilizer and thickener. Cellulose gum is vegan.
Carrageenan is a type of ingredient that is derived from red seaweed. It is used as a stabilizer. Carrageenan is vegan.
Calcium sulfate is a type of mineral that is found in many food items. It is used as a firming agent. Calcium sulfate is vegan.
Sodium citrate is a type of salt that is found in many food items. It is used as a preservative. Sodium citrate is vegan.
Natural flavors are derived from plants or animals. They are used to add flavor. Because Wendy’s does not disclose the source of its natural flavor, it is impossible for me to say if it is vegan or not.
Molasses is a type of sugar that is made from plants. It is used as a sweetener and to add flavor. Molasses in Wendy’s Frosties are probably not vegan because of the sugar’s refining process, which often involves bone char.
Annatto extract is a type of coloring agent that is made from plants. It is used to add color. Annatto extract is vegan.
Vitamin A palmitate
Vitamin A palmitate is a type of vitamin that is found in many food items. It is used as a nutrient. Vitamin A palmitate is vegan.
Strawberry puree is a type of fruit that is made from strawberries. It is used to add flavor and color. Strawberry puree is vegan.
Water makes up the majority of the drink. It is used as a solvent to help dissolve the other ingredients. Water is vegan.
Malic acid is a type of acid that is found in many food items. It is used as a flavoring agent. Malic acid is vegan.
Pectin is a type of carbohydrate that is found in many fruits. It is used as a thickening agent. Pectin is vegan.
Potassium sorbate is a type of salt that is used as a preservative. It is vegan.
Red 40 is a type of coloring agent that is made from plants. It is used to add color. Red 40 is vegan but not cruelty free.
Why Aren’t Frosties Vegan?
Wendy’s fast food chain Frosties are not vegan because they contain animal-derived ingredients, including milk, whey, milk protein, mono- and diglycerides, and refined sugar. Milk products are always a no-go for vegans, as they are produced by cows.
Mono- and diglycerides can be from either plant or animal sources but are often sourced from animals because it’s cheaper, and refined sugar is often processed using animal bone char.
All these ingredients make it clear that Frosties are not vegan.
Are There Any Vegan-Friendly Menu Items at Wendy’s?
Wendy’s Frosties may not be vegan, but there are some vegan-friendly menu items available at this fast food chain. So, what vegan options are there on the Wendy’s menu?
Are Wendy’s Chocolate Frosty Vegan?
No. Wendy’s Chocolate Frosty contains refined sugar, milk, and its derivatives.
This frozen dessert is not safe for vegan consumption.
Are Wendy’s Fries Vegan?
Yes! Wendy’s french fries do not contain animal-derived ingredients. However, they are fried in the same vegetable oil as fish and chicken products.
These natural cut fries are probably safe for vegan consumption but if the use of contaminated oil is something that concerns you, then it’s best to avoid Wendy’s french fries.
Is Wendy’s Apple Pecan Chicken Salad Vegan?
No. Wendy’s Apple Pecan Chicken Salad contains actual chicken.
This salad is not safe for vegan consumption.
Is Wendy’s Veggie Sandwich Vegan?
No. Wendy’s Veggie Sandwich is not vegan but can be made vegan by removing the mayonnaise and cheese.
This sandwich is not vegan-friendly unless altered.
Is Wendy’s Black Bean Burger Vegan?
Yes! Wendy’s Black Bean Burger is a vegan burger. It is a legume-based burger topped with fresh tomato, crisp lettuce, and creamy avocado ranch sauce all on a toasted vegan bun.
This burger is safe for vegan consumption.
Are Wendy’s Apple Slices Vegan?
Yes! Wendy’s Apple Slices are a vegan side. They are fresh red and green apples that are cut daily and served with a light sugar-free cinnamon spice dipping sauce.
These apple bites are safe for vegan consumption.
Is The Baked Potato at Wendy’s Vegan?
Yes, Wendy’s baked potato is vegan, but most of the topping options are not. You could, however, use black pepper or scallions as a topping.
Wendy’s baked potato is safe for vegan consumption.
Vegan Alternatives to Frosties
If you’re in the mood for a vegan-friendly frozen dessert, you’re better off making your own at home. There are many recipes online for a vegan frosty treat that you can make with plant-based milk and vegan ingredients. Here are a few of my favorites:
- Wendy’s Frosty Copycat Recipe by The Edgy Veg
- Wendy’s Frosty Recipe (Vegan Copycat) by Desiree Nielsen
- Vegan “Frosty” by The Whole Food Plant-Based Cooking Show
While Wendy’s Frosties are not vegan, these vegan alternatives are just as delicious and will satisfy your sweet tooth. So, next time you’re craving a Frosty, make one of these recipes instead.
So, there you have it! Is Wendy’s Frosty vegan? Sadly no, Frosties are not vegan because they contain several animal-derived ingredients. However, there are many vegan alternatives to Frosties that you can make at home.
You don’t have to miss out on this delicious treat just because you’re vegan! And there are a few vegan-friendly options at Wendy’s that you can enjoy, including the baked potato and black bean burger.