Is Domino’s Crust Vegan and Cruelty Free? The Crunchy Truth

Figuring out if Domino’s crust is vegan can be difficult.

Restaurants often mask their actual recipes behind vague terms and obscure ingredients, and even when they do give you a full list, they never include how those ingredients were made. 

To make sure you’re only eating food that aligns with your vegan diet and values, I’ve investigated the ingredients and production processes of Domino’s crust.

Here’s what I found.

Is Domino’s Crust Vegan?

Yes and no. Domino’s pizza crusts have different varieties, some of which are vegan while others are not.

The non-vegan crusts at Domino’s include the following; Brooklyn, Handmade Pan Crust, and Hand-Tossed Crust. All these crusts have refined sugar and whey in them.

Refined sugar is usually processed using animal bone char to make it whiter. Unless sugar is labeled as “raw,” “organic,” or “unrefined,” it’s likely that it was processed using bone char.

Whey is a milk protein, so it is not vegan. It’s found in all three of these crusts.

The vegan crusts at Domino’s are Thin Crust and Gluten-Free Crust because they do not have refined sugar or any other animal-derived ingredients that are unsuitable for a vegan diet.

So, if you’re looking for a vegan pizza at Domino’s, you’ll need to order one with a Thin Crust or Gluten-Free Crust and unfortunately no cheese. Domino’s does not currently carry vegan cheese. 

Is Domino’s Crust Cruelty Free?

Yes! Domino’s crust is cruelty free.

Domino’s does not test its crust on animals at any point of its production nor does it contain any ingredients that have been tested on animals, like artificial colors.

Animal testing is a cruel and outdated practice that only leaves innocent animals hurt, disabled, or dead. It is completely unnecessary and there are alternatives available that do not involve animals.

Fortunately, more and more food brands have realized this and are changing their ways. Domino’s is one of these brands.

What Is Domino’s Crust Made Of?

Here are the ingredients for Domino’s Hand-Tossed Crust:

  • Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid)
  • Water
  • Soybean oil
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Whey
  • Maltodextrin
  • Dextrose
  • Dough conditioners (sodium stearoyl lactylate, enzyme, ascorbic acid, L-cysteine monohydrochloride)
  • Yeast
  • Cornmeal

Let us break down all of these ingredients.

Enriched flour

Enriched flour is a type of wheat flour that has been fortified with nutrients. It typically contains more iron and B vitamins than plain flour. It is used in baking and making crusts because it yields a flaky, tender product. Enriched flour is vegan.

Water

Water is used as a moistening agent in crusts. It is vegan.

Soybean oil

Soybean oil is used as a shortening. It helps to create a tender, flaky crust. Soybean oil is vegan.

Sugar

Sugar is a sweetener that is used in many crust recipes. It helps to add flavor and can also act as a preservative. It is often processed with animal bone char to achieve its white color. Sugar is not vegan unless it is labeled “raw,” “organic,” or “unrefined.”

Salt

Salt is used to add flavor and as a preservative. Salt is vegan.

Whey

Whey is a dairy protein. It is often used as a dough enhancer in bread and crusts. Whey is not vegan.

Maltodextrin

Maltodextrin is a sugar that is used as a filler or thickener. It is often derived from corn. Maltodextrin is vegan.

Dextrose

Dextrose is a sugar that is used as a sweetener or preservative. Dextrose is often derived from corn. Dextrose is vegan.

Dough conditioners

Dough conditioners are added to dough to improve its texture, flavor, and shelf life. Dough conditioners can be made from artificial or natural ingredients. The dough conditioners in Domino’s crust are vegan.

Yeast

Yeast is a leavening agent that helps bread and crust to rise. Yeast is vegan.

Cornmeal

Cornmeal is often used as a flour or thickener. It is a type of coarse flour that is made from dried corn. Cornmeal is vegan.

Why Aren’t Domino’s Crusts Vegan?

Three of five Domino’s crusts are not vegan because they contain whey and sugar. Whey is a dairy protein and sugar is often processed with animal bone char to achieve its white color. Domino’s crusts may not be 100% vegan, but it is certainly moving in the right direction by offering two vegan crusts. So, if you’re looking for a vegan pizza at Domino’s, you’ll need to order one with a Thin Crust or Gluten-Free Crust.

Is Domino’s Thin Crust Vegan?

Yes! Domino’s Thin Crust does not contain any animal-derived ingredients.

This crunchy crust is suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Domino’s Gluten-Free Crust Vegan?

Yes! Domino’s Gluten-Free Crust does not contain any animal-derived ingredients.

This gluten-free crust is suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Domino’s Brooklyn Crust Vegan?

No. Domino’s Brooklyn Crust contains sugar and whey.

This pizza crust is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Domino’s Handmade Pan Crust Vegan?

No. Domino’s Handmade Pan Crust is not vegan because it contains sugar and whey.

This pizza crust is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Domino’s Hand-Tossed Crust Vegan?

No. Domino’s Hand-Tossed Crust contains sugar and whey.

This pizza crust is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Domino’s Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich Vegan?

No. Domino’s Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich contains cheese.

This delicious sandwich is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Domino’s Marinara Pizza Sauce Vegan?

No. Domino’s Marinara Pizza Sauce is not vegan because it contains refined sugar.

This pizza sauce is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Domino’s Pacific Veggie Pizza Vegan?

No. Domino’s Pacific Veggie Pizza is not vegan because it contains cheese, whey, and sugar in its ingredients.

This veggie pizza is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Domino’s Classic Garden Salad Vegan?

No. Domino’s Classic Garden Salad is not vegan because it contains cheese.

This veggie salad is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Final Words

So, there you have it! Domino’s has both vegan and non-vegan pizza crusts to choose from. The next time you are in the mood for some vegan pizza, be sure to bring your own vegan cheese and order the vegan crust topped with diced tomatoes, roasted red peppers, fresh baby spinach, and vegan sauce from Domino’s. Enjoy!