Are Domino’s Breadsticks Vegan and Cruelty Free? The Cheesy Truth

Trying to figure out if Domino’s Breadsticks are safe for vegans to consume can be difficult.

Breadsticks often contain many ingredients and some of them may be animal derived.

To ensure that you are only eating food that aligns with your vegan lifestyle and diet, I’ve looked into the ingredients and production processes of Domino’s Breadsticks.

Here’s what I found out.

Are Domino’s Breadsticks Vegan?

No. Domino’s Breadsticks are not vegan. In fact, not much is vegan at Domino’s.

Domino’s Breadsticks are made with a blend of wheat flour, garlic, salt, sugar, yeast, and butter. They are then rolled and stuffed in a mixture of cheese and parsley.

You can see from the ingredients list that there are several animal-derived products in the breadsticks, including dairy products, such as butter and cheese.

Then there’s refined sugar. Sugar is technically vegan, but some vegans avoid it because of the way it’s processed. Sugar manufacturers often use animal bone char to whiten their products.

So, if you’re vegan, you should avoid eating Domino’s Breadsticks. There are many other vegan pizza and breadstick options available.

Are Domino’s Breadsticks Cruelty Free?

Yes! Domino’s Breadsticks are cruelty free.

Domino’s Breadsticks are not tested on animals at any stage, nor do they contain ingredients that are tested on animals, like artificial colors.

Animal testing is an outdated practice that leaves innocent animals disfigured, maimed, and even dead. Fortunately, more companies are listening to the demands of consumers and creating cruelty-free products.

What Are Domino’s Breadsticks Made Of?

Here are the ingredients of Domino’s Breadsticks:

Hand-tossed crust

  • Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid)
  • Water
  • Soybean oil
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Whey
  • Maltodextrin
  • Dextrose
  • Dough conditioners (sodium stearoyl, lactylate, enzyme, calcium sulfate, ascorbic acid, calcium phosphate, l-cysteine)
  • Yeast
  • Cornmeal (used in preparation)

Pizza cheese

  • Part-skim mozzarella cheese (pasteurized milk, cultures, salt, enzymes, modified food starch, cellulose (added to prevent caking), nonfat milk, whey protein concentrate, natural flavors, sodium propionate (added as a preservative)

Shredded cheddar cheese

  • Pasteurized milk, cheese cultures, salt, enzymes, annatto vegetable color added, cornstarch, potato starch, and powdered cellulose added to prevent caking, natamycin

Garlic oil blend

  • Butter-flavored oil (liquid and hydrogenated soybean oil, palm oil, salt, natural flavors (contain canola oil and lipolyzed butter oil), sunflower and soy lecithin, lactic acid, colored with turmeric and beta carotene, artificial flavor, TBHQ and citric acid, vitamin A palmitate, autolyzed yeast extract, beta carotene)
  • Dehydrated garlic
  • Parmesan cheese (part-skim milk, cheese cultures, salt, enzymes)
  • Salt
  • Dehydrated parsley
  • Spice
  • Annatto extract
  • Natural flavor
  • Citric acid
  • Lactic acid
  • Oleoresin rosemary

Let’s break down each ingredient of Domino’s Breadsticks:

Enriched flour

Enriched flour is a type of wheat flour that has been enriched with vitamins and minerals (niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, and folic acid). Enriched flour is vegan.

Water

Water is a vegan ingredient that helps the dough come together.

Soybean oil

Soybean oil is a vegan ingredient used as a dough conditioner. It is vegan.

Sugar

Sugar is used to sweeten the breadsticks. It can be either vegan or non-vegan, but because bone char—an animal by-product from animal bones—is widely used in the sugar industry, sugar is mostly non-vegan.

Salt

Salt is a vegan ingredient that adds flavor and acts as a preservative to the breadsticks. Salt is vegan.

Whey

Whey is a dairy product made from the liquid that remains after milk has been curdled and strained. It is often used as a protein supplement, but it can also be used as an ingredient in baked goods. Whey is not vegan.

Maltodextrin

Maltodextrin is a carbohydrate made from starch. It is often used as a thickener or filler in food products. Maltodextrin is usually vegan but can sometimes be derived from animal sources, so it is best to check with the company to be sure.

Dextrose

Dextrose is a sugar that is made from cornstarch. It is often used as a sweetener or thickener in food products. Dextrose is usually vegan, but it can sometimes be derived from animal sources, so it is best to check with the company to be sure.

Dough conditioners

Dough conditioners are ingredients that are added to the dough to improve its texture, flavor, and shelf life. Domino’s breadsticks dough conditioners are made from sodium stearoyl, lactylate, enzyme, calcium sulfate, ascorbic acid, calcium phosphate, and l-cysteine. They are vegan friendly except for l-cysteine.

Yeast

Yeast is a fungus that is used to leaven bread and help it rise. It is vegan.

Cornmeal

Corn meal is a type of flour that is made from ground corn. It is often used as a coating or filler in food products. Cornmeal is vegan.

Pizza cheese

Domino’s pizza cheese is made from part-skim mozzarella cheese. It has lower fat content than regular mozzarella cheese. It is not vegan.

Shredded cheddar cheese

Shredded cheddar cheese is made from cow’s milk. Shredded cheddar cheese is not vegan.

Butter-flavored oil

Butter-flavored oil comes from a variety of sources, but it is usually made from soybean oil. Butter-flavored oil is not vegan.

Dehydrated garlic

Dehydrated garlic is a type of garlic that has been dried. It is often used as a seasoning or flavoring agent in food products. Dehydrated garlic is vegan.

Parmesan cheese (part-skim milk, cheese cultures, salt, enzymes)

Parmesan cheese is a type of cheese made from cow’s milk. Parmesan cheese is not vegan.

Dehydrated parsley

Dehydrated parsley is often used as a seasoning or flavoring agent in food products. Dehydrated parsley is vegan.

Spice

A spice is a type of plant product used to flavor food. Spices are vegan.

Annatto extract (color)

Annatto extract is a type of extract made from the seeds of the achiote tree. It is often used as a coloring agent in food products. Annatto extract is vegan.

Natural flavor

Natural flavors are derived from plants or animals. Natural flavors are not always vegan.

Citric acid

Citric acid is a type of acid that is found in citrus fruits. It is often used as a flavoring or preservative in food products. Citric acid is vegan.

Lactic acid

Lactic acid is a type of acid that is produced by the fermentation of milk or other carbohydrates. It is often used as a preservative. Lactic acid is not always vegan.

Oleoresin rosemary

Oleoresin rosemary is a type of extract that is made from the rosemary plant. It is often used as a flavoring or preservative in food products. Oleoresin rosemary is vegan friendly.

Why Aren’t Domino’s Breadsticks Vegan?

Domino’s Breadsticks are not vegan because they contain several dairy products (cheese, milk, whey, and butter oil). It also has refined sugar, which is often processed with bone char. These ingredients are a no-no for vegans. So, if you’re vegan and looking for a quick snack from Domino’s, you’re better off sticking with the veggies.

Is Jalapeno Bacon Stuffed Cheesy Bread Vegan?

No. Domino’s Jalapeno Bacon Stuffed Cheesy Bread is not vegan. It contains dairy products, such as milk and cheese, and bacon.

Domino’s Jalapeno Bacon Stuffed Cheesy Bread is not safe for vegan consumption.

Is ExtravaganZZa Pizza Vegan?

No. Domino’s ExtravaganZZa pizza is not vegan. It contains dairy products, such as whey and cheese. It also contains meat. Sadly, there is no vegan pizza available at Domino’s Pizza.

Domino’s ExtravaganZZa pizza is not safe for vegan consumption.

Is Domino’s Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich Vegan?

No. Domino’s Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich contains dairy products.

Domino’s Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich is not safe for vegan consumption.

Is Domino’s Build-Your-Own Pasta Vegan?

Yes! You can make your own vegan pasta from the wide selection of toppings at Domino’s. You can order the penne pasta with robust inspired tomato sauce and choose from these vegan toppings:

  • Tomatoes (canned, diced tomatoes, sliced, or diced in juice)
  • Spinach
  • Mushrooms
  • Jalapeño peppers
  • Parsley
  • Onions
  • Olives (black or green)
  • Green peppers
  • Green chili peppers
  • Garlic
  • Carrots
  • Banana peppers
  • Fresh baby spinach
  • Roasted red peppers

What Else Is Vegan at Domino’s?

You can also create your own vegan pizza with Domino’s thin crust and gluten-free crusts. Unfortunately, they don’t have vegan cheese at Domino’s, so you’ll have to ask for your pizza without cheese. Here are some other vegan options:

  • Classic Garden Salad (order without cheese and croutons)
  • Marinara dipping sauce (different from Marinara pizza sauce, which contains dairy)

Vegan Alternatives to Domino’s Breadsticks

Suddenly craving breadsticks but you’re vegan? No problem! There are many vegan-friendly breadstick brands to choose from. Here are some of my favorites:

If you’re feeling ambitious and want to make your own breadsticks, here are some vegan breadsticks recipes:

These are a few of the vegan alternatives to Domino’s Breadsticks. So, if you’re ever in the mood for some crunchy, savory breadsticks but want to stay true to your vegan diet, don’t worry—there are plenty of options out there for you!

Final Words

So there you have it! Domino’s Breadsticks contain dairy products. However, with dairy-free ingredients and a bit of vegan cheese, there are many vegan-friendly alternatives to Domino’s breadsticks that you can enjoy!