Is Crazy Bread Vegan and Cruelty Free? The Doughy Truth

Figuring out if Little Caesars Crazy Bread is vegan can be a tough task.

Fast food restaurants often mask their ingredients under vague terms, such as “natural flavors,” and even if they do provide you with a list, you’ll be quickly overwhelmed by all the scientific terms.

To ensure that you only eat foods that align with your vegan diet and lifestyle, I’ve investigated the ingredients and production processes of Crazy Bread.

Here’s what I found:

Is Little Caesars Crazy Bread Vegan?

No. Little Caesars Crazy Bread is not vegan.

Little Caesars is a pizza chain that specializes in, you guessed it, pizza. While their menu does offer some vegan-friendly items, Crazy Bread is not one of them.

Crazy Bread contains cheese and sugar. Cheese is a dairy product and sugar is often processed using animal bone char. Bone char is made from the ground-up bones of animals. It makes sugar look whiter.

While not all sugar is processed with bone char, most are. Unless the sugar in the product is labeled “organic,” “raw,” or “unrefined,” it is probably processed with bone char.

So, while Crazy Bread might be vegetarian, it is not vegan.

Is Crazy Bread Cruelty Free?

Yes! Crazy Bread is cruelty-free food.

The bread is not tested on animals at any point during production. It also does not contain ingredients that are tested on animals, such as artificial colors and flavors.

Animal testing is a cruel and inhumane practice that often leaves animals maimed, sick, or dead. It is still legal in many countries, but I’m glad to see that Crazy Bread is made without causing unnecessary suffering to any animals.

What Is Crazy Bread Made Of?

Here are the ingredients of Crazy Bread:

  • Wheat flour
  • Niacin
  • Reduced iron
  • Thiamine mononitrate
  • Riboflavin
  • Enzyme
  • Folic acid
  • Water
  • Soybean oil
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Yeast
  • Soybean oil
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Hydrogenated soybean oil
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Vegetable mono and diglycerides
  • Soy lecithin
  • Sodium benzoate
  • Citric acid
  • Beta carotene
  • Vitamin A palmitate added
  • Calcium disodium
  • Parmesan cheese mix
  • Powdered cellulose
  • Kosher salt

Let’s break down each ingredient of Crazy Bread:

Wheat flour

Wheat flour is a powder made from the grinding of wheat. It is commonly used in baking as a leavening agent. It is vegan.

Niacin

Niacin is a water-soluble vitamin of the B complex. It is also known as vitamin B3. Niacin is vegan.

Reduced iron

Reduced iron is a form of iron that has been reduced from its natural state. It is vegan.

Thiamine mononitrate

Thiamine mononitrate is a vitamin of the B complex. It is also known as vitamin B1. Thiamine mononitrate is vegan.

Riboflavin

Riboflavin is a water-soluble vitamin of the B complex. It is also known as vitamin B2. Riboflavin is vegan.

Enzyme

Enzymes are proteins that are added to food processing, preparation, and food treatment. Enzymes are vegan.

Folic acid

Folic acid is a water-soluble vitamin of the B complex. Folic acid is vegan.

Water

Water binds the dough ingredients together. Water is vegan.

Soybean oil

Soybean oil is a vegetable oil that is extracted from soybeans. It is vegan.

Sugar

Sugar is a type of carbohydrate that is added to sweetened foods. Sugar is technically vegan, but it is often processed with animal bone char. Unless the sugar is labeled “organic,” “raw,” or “unrefined,” it is probably not vegan.

Salt

Salt is a type of mineral that is added to food for flavor. It is vegan.

Yeast

Yeast is a type of fungus that is used in baking. Yeast is vegan.

Hydrogenated soybean oil

Hydrogenated soybean oil is a type of vegetable oil. It is vegan.

Natural and artificial flavors

Natural and artificial flavors are added to food for flavor. Artificial flavors are usually vegan, but natural flavors can be made from animal or plant sources. Unless the flavors are specifically labeled as “vegan,” they’re probably not.

Vegetable mono- and diglycerides

Vegetable mono and diglycerides are added to food as emulsifiers. They are vegan.

Soy lecithin

Soy lecithin is a type of emulsifier. It is vegan.

Sodium benzoate

Sodium benzoate is a preservative. It is vegan.

Citric acid

Citric acid is a type of acid. It is vegan.

Beta carotene

Beta carotene is a type of pigment. It is vegan.

Vitamin A palmitate

Vitamin A palmitate is a type of vitamin. It is vegan.

Calcium disodium

Calcium disodium is a type of salt. It is vegan.

Parmesan cheese mix

Parmesan cheese mix is a mixture of Parmesan cheese and other cheeses. It is a dairy product.

Powdered cellulose

Powdered cellulose is a type of fiber. It is vegan.

Kosher salt

Kosher salt is a type of salt. It is vegan.

Why Isn’t Crazy Bread Vegan?

Crazy Bread is not vegan because it contains cheese and refined sugar. Cheese is a dairy product and refined sugar is often processed and filtered with animal bone char to decolorize it and make it whiter.

So, while Crazy Bread may be vegetarian, it is not vegan. If you’re looking for a vegan alternative to Crazy Bread, there are plenty of other vegan breads that are just as delicious and nutritious.

Is Little Caesars Cheese Pizza Vegan?

No. Little Caesars cheese pizza contains cheese.

This pizza is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Little Caesars Hula Hawaiian Pizza Vegan?

No. Hula Hawaiian Pizza contains cheese.

This pizza is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Little Caesars Pepperoni Pizza Vegan?

No. Little Caesars pepperoni pizza contains pepperoni, a type of sausage made from pork and beef.

This pizza is not suitable for vegan consumers.

Is Little Caesars 3 Meat Treat Pizza Vegan?

No. 3 Meat Treat Pizza contains meat.

This pizza is not suitable for vegan consumers.

Is Little Caesars Italian Sausage Pizza Vegan?

No. Italian sausage pizza contains sausage.

This pizza is not suitable for vegan consumers.

Is Little Caesars Veggie Pizza Vegan?

No. The veggie pizza at Little Caesars contains cheese.

This Little Caesars pizza is not suitable for vegan consumers.

Is Little Caesars Stuffed Crazy Bread Vegan?

No. Stuffed Crazy Bread contains cheese.

This bread is not suitable for vegan consumers.

Is Little Caesars Italian Cheese Bread Vegan?

No. Italian Cheese Bread contains cheese.

This bread is not suitable for vegan consumers.

Is Little Caesars Pepperoni Cheese Bread Vegan?

No. Pepperoni Cheese Bread contains cheese and pepperoni.

This bread is not suitable for vegan consumers.

Is Little Caesars Slices-N-Stix Vegan?

No. Slices-N-Stix contains cheese.

This menu item is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Little Caesars 5 Meat Feast Pizza Vegan?

No. Little Caesars 5 Meat Feast Pizza contains meat.

This pizza is not suitable for vegan consumers.

Is Little Caesars Ultimate Supreme Pizza Vegan?

No. Ultimate Supreme Pizza contains meat.

This pizza is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Little Caesars Garlic Butter Vegan?

No. Little Caesars garlic butter contains dairy.

This garlic butter dip is not suitable for vegan consumers.

Is Little Caesars Vegan?

Little Caesars isn’t really a vegan-friendly pizza place because most of their pizzas contain cheese and meat products. The pizza chain is trying though—last year they launched their vegan pepperoni at select locations.

Although they don’t have a vegan menu or a vegan pizza per se, you can still order vegan pizza at Little Caesars. You just have to build your own vegan pizza with their limited vegan toppings.

I recommend ordering the classic crust pizza with no cheese or meat and adding as many veggies as you like. The vegetables they have are onions, green peppers, mushrooms, and tomatoes. You can also get black or green olives on your pizza.

If only they’d use vegan cheese! Then, we could all enjoy a nice, hot, vegan pizza from Little Caesars.

Vegan Alternatives to Crazy Bread

If you are craving crazy bread but are vegan, never fear! There is plenty of other vegan bread on the market that is just as delicious and nutritious. Here are a few of my favorite vegan bread:

All these brands make delicious vegan bread that is just as good as Little Caesars’ Crazy Bread. Or if you’re feeling a little bit more adventurous, you can try making your own vegan bread at home. Here are a few of my favorite recipes:

With some melted vegan garlic butter sauce with gooey vegan mozzarella shreds as your crazy sauce, you won’t even be able to tell the difference! 

Don’t forget the delicious vegan garlic butter sauce for the full Little Caesars experience!

Final Words

So there you have it! Little Caesars Crazy Bread is not vegan because of the cheese and refined sugar the bread contains. As of the moment, Little Caesars’ vegan menu is quite limited, but hopefully they’ll add more vegan options in the future.

In the meantime, you can still enjoy vegan cheese bread by trying the many delicious vegan alternatives on the market. Or you can also try making your own vegan cheesy bread at home using one of the recipes above. Whichever route you choose, you’re sure to enjoy a delicious and cruelty-free meal.