Is Pearl Milling Company (Formerly Aunt Jemima) Syrup Vegan?

September 27, 2023

Identifying whether Pearl Milling Company syrup is vegan or not can be quite difficult. Many “syrup” products don’t even have syrup in them at all.

Instead, they’re often a cocktail of processed ingredients, both hard to identify and difficult to pronounce.

This article aims to uncover the truth and support you, dear reader, in your commitment to a vegan lifestyle.

Is Pearl Milling Company Syrup Vegan?

Maybe? Pearl Milling Company syrup contains a vague ingredient, “natural and artificial flavor,” that we can’t tell you is definitely vegan. This ambiguous term can often include animal-derived ingredients, which is a red flag for any ethical vegan.

What I can tell you is that this is “probably vegan.” While I’m not sure this syrup has ever even seen a maple tree, let alone included its sap in its formula, the natural flavor is, in all likelihood, tied to maple syrup more than it would be dairy or meat.

If you’re a strict, suspicious vegan, though, you’ll want to avoid vague ingredients like artificial and natural flavors.

Is Pearl Milling Company Syrup Cruelty-Free?

No, Pearl Milling Company syrup is not at all cruelty-free. Its main ingredient is corn syrup and its second ingredient is high fructose corn syrup. Both of these ingredients are produced from genetically modified corn. All GMOs are tested on animals to ensure their safety for human consumption, so Pearl Milling Company syrup is not cruelty-free.

What Is Pearl Milling Company Syrup Made Of?

Pearl Milling Company Original Syrup is made up of the following ingredients:

  • Corn syrup
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Water
  • Cellulose gum
  • Caramel color
  • Salt
  • Sodium benzoate and sorbic acid (preservatives)
  • Artificial and natural flavors
  • Sodium hexametaphosphate

Corn Syrup

Corn syrup is derived from corn, a plant-based ingredient, which makes it vegan. It’s a type of sweetener that provides a sweetness that is less cloying than refined sugar. It is, however, GMO.

High Fructose Corn Syrup

Like corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup is also derived from corn and it’s vegan, but GMO. It’s used to enhance the sweetness of the syrup.

Artificial and Natural Flavors

These flavors can come from both plant and animal sources. In the food industry, manufacturers aren’t required to disclose the exact origin of these flavors — we at Caring Consumer hope that changes someday. It’s this lack of transparency that makes Pearl Milling Company syrup only probably vegan.

Vegan Alternatives to Pearl Milling Company Syrup

Don’t be disheartened if your favorite pancake syrup turned out to be not so vegan-friendly. There are numerous alternatives available, some of which are even more delicious, and definitely healthier:

These vegan alternatives are not only devoid of animal-derived ingredients, but they’re also healthier.

Remember, when it comes to syrup, the key is to look for products labeled as “pure maple syrup” to avoid any confusion.


In conclusion, Pearl Milling Company syrup is not vegan or cruelty-free due to the use of ambiguous natural and artificial food flavors, and the fact that it’s GMO.

While it may be disheartening for ethical vegans, it’s important to remember that there are a number of vegan alternatives available.

With a bit of research and a willingness to try new brands, you can easily stick to your vegan lifestyle without compromising on your favorite sweet breakfast treat. Remember, your commitment to a vegan lifestyle helps to ensure the health of our planet and all those who live on it.