Is Soreen Malt Loaf Vegan? The Simple Truth

May 2, 2023

Malt Loaf is a type of fruitcake popular in the United Kingdom. It’s often served in a lined loaf tin, sliced, either on its own or with butter. It is a treat that is enjoyed by many people. But what about vegans? Is Malt Loaf safe for vegans?

Are Malt Loaves Vegan?

Yes. Soreen’s Malt Loaf is as vegan as they come—no animal products or by-products are used in its ingredients or production process. Compared to most fruitcakes, Soreen’s loaves are vegan friendly because they use inverted sugar syrup as their primary sweetener rather than honey.

Other ingredients include malted wheat flour, malted barley flour, dried fruit (raisins, sultanas, currants), water, vegetable oil, and salt—all vegan-friendly ingredients.

So, if you’re looking for a vegan-friendly fruitcake, this is a good option.

What Is Malt Loaf Made Of?

Here are the main ingredients in Soreen Malt Loaf:

  • Water
  • Raisins or mixed dried fruits
  • Bicarbonate of soda
  • Barley malt extract
  • Dark muscovado sugar
  • Fortified wheat flour
  • Plain flour
  • Baking powder
  • Yeast
  • Partially inverted sugar syrup
  • Salt

Let’s break down each ingredient:

Raisins or mixed dried fruit

Raisins are dried grapes and they are a common ingredient in malt loaf. These dried grapes have been treated with sulphur dioxide to preserve their colour. Other mixed fruits that may be found in the loaf include dried apricots, prunes, and figs.

Bicarbonate of soda

Bicarbonate of soda is a leavening agent that helps bread rise. It is alkaline and reacts with the acidic ingredients in malt loaf to create carbon dioxide gas. This gas makes the bread light and fluffy. Bicarbonate of soda is a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Barley malt extract

Barley malt extract is a sweetener that gives the loaf its characteristic flavour. Malt extract may or may not be vegan-friendly depending on the manufacturing process. Though some brands use animal products in the manufacturing process, it is generally considered vegan, but it’s still important to check the label before purchasing malt extract.

Dark muscovado sugar

Dark muscovado sugar is a type of brown sugar that is made from cane or beet. Unlike refined sugar, dark muscovado sugar is not processed with bone char, so it is vegan. 

Fortified wheat flour

Fortified wheat flour is a powder that is made by grinding wheat, rye, barley, or other grains. It is the main ingredient in malt loaf and it gives the bread its structure. Flour does not use animal-derived ingredients and is vegan friendly.

Baking powder

Baking powder is a leavening agent that helps bread rise. It is a combination of baking soda and an acidic ingredient, such as a cream of tartar. It is a plant-based, vegan-friendly ingredient.

Invert sugar syrup

Invert sugar syrup is a type of sucrose syrup that has been processed to make it sweeter and more soluble. This is an ideal sweetener for vegan baking that helps create a moist and sticky texture without the need for eggs or dairy products.


Salt is a common ingredient in food. This mineral is necessary for human bodies to function properly. It is used to add flavour and as a preservative. Salt is a vegan ingredient.


Yeast is a type of fungus that is used to leaven bread and bake loaves. Yeast is a plant-based ingredient and does not involve any animals or animal by-products in its production so it is safe for vegan consumption.

Why Is Soreen Malt Loaf Vegan?

Malt Loaf’s ingredients are all vegan friendly. Cakes typically contain eggs and butter, making them unsafe for vegan consumption. But Soreen’s loaves do not use these ingredients. Instead, they use substitutes like malted barley flour and invert sugar syrup.

Sugar is another controversial ingredient when it comes to following a vegan diet. However, the sugar in Soreen Malt Loaf is replaced by either invert sugar syrup or muscovado sugar, which are both vegan-friendly.

Is Original Soreen Malt Loaf Vegan?

Yes. Original Soreen Malt Loaf is vegan. All the ingredients in Soreen’s original loaf are plant based and vegan friendly. There are no animal products or derivatives in this product.

Are Soreen’s Lunchbox Loaves Vegan?

Yes. Soreen’s individually-wrapped Lunchbox Loaves are vegan. All the ingredients are plant based and vegan friendly.

Are Soreen Loaf Bars Vegan?

Yes. Soreen Loaf Bars are vegan. All the ingredients in Soreen’s Loaf Bars are plant based and vegan friendly.

Are Soreen Core Loaves Vegan?

Yes. Soreen Core Loaves are vegan. All the ingredients in the product are plant based and vegan friendly.

Is Soreen Banana Bread Vegan?

Yes. Soreen’s Banana Bread is vegan. All the ingredients in Soreen Banana Bread are plant based and vegan friendly.

Is Soreen Winter Spice Vegan?

Yes. Soreen’s Winter Spice is vegan. All the ingredients in Soreen’s Winter Spice are plant based and vegan friendly.

Is Soreen Apple Loaf Vegan?

Yes. Soreen Apple Loaf is vegan. All the ingredients in Soreen Apple Loaf are plant based and vegan friendly.

There are also other flavours of malt loaf from other brands that are suitable for vegans:

  • Original Malt Loaf
  • Banana Loaf
  • Banana Loaf Bar
  • Chocolate Loaf Bars
  • Malt Loaf Bar (individual)
  • Apple Lunchbox Loaves
  • Banana Lunchbox Loaves
  • Strawberry Lunchbox Loaves
  • Raspberry and White Chocolate Mini Loaves
  • Gingerbread Mini Loaves
  • Fruit & Veg-Mmms Berry & Beetroot Bakes
  • Fruit & Veg-Mmms Orange & Rainbow Carrot Bakes
  • Scream Toffee Apple Mini Loaves
  • Scream Chocolate and Blood Orange Mini Loaves

Final Words

Soreen Malt Loaf is as vegan as they come. With no animal products or by-products, you can be sure that Soreen’s malt loaves are vegan-friendly and cruelty-free. And with a variety of flavours to choose from, there’s a malt loaf for everyone! So whether you’re looking for a vegan snack or a meal, grab a Soreen Malt Loaf and enjoy!

As usual, strict vegans should consult every food’s ingredients label before consuming.