Figuring out whether Grape-Nuts are safe for vegans to consume can be difficult.
Cereal makers often hide their ingredients behind vague terms such as “natural flavors,” and even when they do provide a full list of ingredients, it can be hard to determine which ones are vegan-friendly.
To ensure that you are only eating vegan food and vegan cereals that align with your vegan lifestyle, I’ve looked into the ingredients and production processes of Grape-Nuts.
Here’s what I found.
Are Grape-Nuts Vegan?
Yes and no. Grape-Nuts are both vegan and non-vegan.
Grape-Nuts is a brand of cereal from Post Consumer Brands. They are loved for their crunchy texture and nutty flavor and for their nutritional value. There are only two varieties of Grape-Nuts, Original and Flakes, and in this case, you need to be careful because one Grape-Nuts product contains animal-based ingredients while the other does not.
The original and most popular flavor, Original Grape-Nuts, is vegan. It is free of animal products and by-products. The list of ingredients is short and simple: whole wheat flour, salt, malt flavor, and yeast.
Grape-Nuts Flakes are not vegan, though. They contain refined sugar and vitamin D3. Sugar is plant-based, but it can be processed with bone char, which is made from the bones of animals. So, unless labeled as “unrefined,” “organic,” or “raw,” sugar is likely not vegan, which means it’s also likely that the sugar in Grape-Nuts Flakes has been processed with bone char and is not vegan.
Vitamin D, on the other hand, can be of animal or plant origin. The kind used in Grape-Nuts Flakes, Vitamin D3, is often derived from lanolin, which is a wax secreted by sheep.
As such, it is not vegan.
So, if you’re looking for a vegan breakfast cereal, go with Original Grape-Nuts. Otherwise, you’ll want to find a different breakfast cereal.
Are Grape-Nuts Cruelty Free?
Yes! Grape-Nuts are cruelty free.
Grape-Nuts are not tested on animals at any point of their production. This goes for all of the ingredients. This means Grape-Nuts do not contain ingredients, such as artificial colors, that are commonly tested on animals.
Animal testing is an outdated, unnecessary, and gruesome practice that should be stopped. Every year, millions of innocent animals are subjected to painful procedures that lead to their death. There are many alternative methods of testing that do not involve animals and are just as effective, if not more so. So, there are no excuses for brands to still test on animals.
What Are Grape-Nuts Made Of?
Here are the ingredients of Original Grape-Nuts:
- Whole grain wheat flour
- Malted barley flour
- Dried yeast
- Reduced iron
- Niacinamide (vitamin B3)
- Zinc oxide (source of zinc)
- Pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6)
- Thiamin mononitrate (vitamin B1)
- Folic acid
Let’s break down each ingredient of Original Grape-Nuts:
Whole grain wheat flour
Whole grain wheat flour is made from the entire wheat kernel, including the germ, bran, and endosperm. It is a good source of fiber, vitamins, and minerals. Whole-grain wheat flour is a vegan ingredient.
Malted barley flour
Malted barley flour is a type of flour that is made from malted barley. It has a sweeter taste than regular barley flour and is often used in baking. Malted barley flour is a vegan ingredient.
Salt is a mineral that is composed of sodium and chloride. It is used as a seasoning or to preserve food. Salt is a vegan ingredient.
Dried yeast is a type of yeast that is in the form of granules or flakes. It is used in baking and brewing. Dried yeast is a vegan ingredient.
Reduced iron is a type of iron that has been chemically treated. It is used as a dietary supplement. Reduced iron is a vegan ingredient.
Niacinamide (vitamin B3)
Niacinamide is a type of vitamin B that is water-soluble. It helps in boosting energy levels, improves circulation, and reduces inflammation. Niacinamide is a vegan ingredient.
Zinc oxide (source of zinc)
Zinc oxide is a white powder that is used as a sunscreen, an astringent, and a colorant. It is also a dietary supplement. Zinc oxide is a vegan ingredient.
Pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6)
Pyridoxine hydrochloride is a type of vitamin B that is water-soluble. It helps in the metabolism of proteins and carbohydrates. Pyridoxine hydrochloride is a vegan ingredient.
Thiamin mononitrate (vitamin B1)
Thiamin mononitrate is a type of vitamin B that is water-soluble. It helps in the metabolism of carbohydrates. Thiamin mononitrate is a vegan ingredient.
Folic acid is a type of vitamin B (B9) that is water-soluble. It helps in the formation of red blood cells and the prevention of birth defects. Folic acid is a vegan ingredient.
Why Aren’t Grape-Nuts Vegan?
Grape-Nuts have both vegan and non-vegan varieties. The Original flavor is vegan, while the Flakes variety is not.
The ingredients that make Flakes variety non-vegan are sugar and vitamin D3. Sugar is not a vegan ingredient because it is often processed with bone char, a black, porous substance that is made from the bones of animals. Vitamin D is not a vegan ingredient because it is often sourced from lanolin, which is a grease that is secreted by the wool-bearing glands of animals.
So if you want to eat Grape-Nuts cereal and be sure that you’re eating a vegan product, then stick to the Original variety.
Are Post Pebbles Cereals Vegan?
No. Most Post Pebbles cereal varieties contain refined sugar, and some contain vitamin D, gelatin, honey, and/or whey, which are all non-vegan ingredients.
These cereals are not safe for vegan consumption.
Is Post Honeycomb Cereal Vegan?
No. Post Honeycomb cereal contains honey, refined sugar, and vitamin D3.
This cereal is not safe for vegan consumption.
Are Post Great Grains Raisins, Dates & Pecans Cereal Vegan?
No. Post Great Grains Raisins, Dates & Pecans cereal contains brown sugar, refined sugar, whey, and vitamin D.
This whole grain oats cereal is not safe for vegan consumption.
Is Post Great Grains Blueberry Morning Cereal Vegan?
No. Post Great Grains Blueberry Morning Cereal contains glycerin, refined sugar, whey, and molasses.
This cereal is not safe for vegan consumption.
Is Post Honey Bunches of Oats With Almonds Cereal Vegan?
No. Post Honey Bunches of Oats contains honey, refined sugar, and vitamin D3.
This cereal is not safe for vegan
Vegan Alternatives to Grape-Nuts
Grape-Nuts Flakes may not be vegan, but there are plenty of vegan cereal options out there. Some of my favorite vegan, healthy cereals include:
- Kashi Organic Strawberry Fields Cereal
- Nature’s Path Flax Plus Cinnamon Flakes
- Nature’s Path Flax Plus Multibran Flakes
- Nature’s Path Sunrise Crunchy Vanilla Cereal
- Cascadian Farm Organic Raisin Bran Cereal
- Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Whole Grain Cereal
With these vegan cereal brands, plus the Original Grape-Nuts Cereal, you’ll have a hard time running out of delicious vegan breakfast options. So don’t worry, there are plenty of great cereals for vegans to choose from. You can also do some research and find a vegan healthy cereal that fits your taste.
So, are Grape-Nuts vegan? Well, it depends on the flavor. The Original variety is vegan, but the Flakes flavor is not. If you want to be sure that you’re eating a vegan product, stick to Original Grape-Nuts. And if you’re looking for some delicious vegan cereal alternatives, there are plenty of options out there for you to choose from.
So go ahead and enjoy a delicious vegan breakfast cereal and add it to your favorite non-dairy milk, like soy milk. Enjoy!