Trying to figure out if Ghirardelli Chocolate is vegan friendly can be tricky.
The Ghirardelli Chocolate Company has many products, from semi-sweet chocolate to unsweetened chocolate, and some of these products may contain animal ingredients.
To make sure you’re only eating food that aligns with your vegan diet and lifestyle, I’ve investigated the ingredients and production processes of Ghirardelli Chocolate.
Here’s what I found.
Is Ghirardelli Chocolate Vegan?
No. Ghirardelli Chocolate is not vegan friendly.
This Italian chocolatier, which has been selling chocolates since 1852, uses milk and other dairy products in many of its chocolate recipes. Ghirardelli also sources some of its chocolate from suppliers that use milk in their products. In addition, Ghirardelli Chocolate is made with sugar that is processed with animal bone char. Because of the potential for the sugar to be processed with bone char, none of the brand’s products can be considered vegan.
Ghirardelli should confirm that it gets its sugar from suppliers that do not filter their sugar through bone char if they want to be considered truly vegan.
So, unfortunately, if you’re looking for vegan chocolate, Ghirardelli is not the right choice.
Is Ghirardelli Chocolate Cruelty Free?
Yes. Ghirardelli Chocolate is cruelty free.
Ghirardelli Chocolate company does not test their products on animals, nor do they use products that are tested on animals.
Animal testing is cruel and inhumane. It often leaves animals maimed, injured, and dead. There are many alternative methods of testing that do not involve animals and are more reliable.
So when you purchase Ghirardelli Chocolate, you can be confident that you are not supporting animal cruelty in any way.
What Is Ghirardelli Chocolate Made Of?
Here are the ingredients of Ghirardelli Caramel Milk Chocolate:
- Whole milk powder
- Cocoa butter
- Corn syrup
- Unsweetened chocolate
- Sweetened condensed milk (milk, sugar)
- Palm oil
- Butter (cream, salt)
- Sodium citrate
- Soy lecithin
- Natural flavor
- Extract of oregano
- Green tea
- Vanilla Extract
Let’s break down each ingredient of Ghirardelli Caramel Milk Chocolate:
Sugar is a sweetener made from sucrose, usually derived from either sugarcane or sugar beets, but sucrose is found naturally in many plants. It is usually processed with animal bone char to achieve its white color. While bone char has mostly been phased out in Europe and elsewhere, in the US, sugar is not vegan friendly unless labeled “organic, “raw,” or “unfiltered.”
Whole milk powder
Whole milk powder is made by evaporating all the water from milk. It contains all the nutrients of milk, including lactose, protein, and fat. It is not vegan.
Cocoa butter is the natural fat of the cocoa bean. It is used to give chocolate its smooth texture. Cocoa butter is vegan.
Corn syrup is a sweetener made from corn. It is vegan.
Unsweetened chocolate is made from cocoa beans and cocoa butter. It is vegan.
Sweetened condensed milk (milk, sugar)
Sweetened condensed milk is made by evaporating all the water from milk and adding sugar. It contains all the nutrients of milk, including lactose, protein, and fat. It is not vegan.
Palm oil is a vegetable oil that is extracted from the fruit of the oil palm tree. It is vegan.
Butter (cream, salt)
Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. It is not vegan.
Sodium citrate is a salt used as a preservative. It is vegan.
Soy lecithin is an emulsifier made from soybeans. Soy lecithin is vegan.
Natural flavors are made from plants or animals. They can be either vegan or non-vegan depending on their source.
Extract of oregano
Extract of oregano is a flavoring made from the herb oregano. It is vegan.
Flaxseed is a type of seed that is used as a source of fiber. It is vegan.
Plum is a type of fruit used to add flavor. It is vegan.
Green tea is made from the leaves of the Camellia sinensis plant. It is vegan.
Salt is a mineral used to add flavor. It is vegan.
Vanilla extract is made from the vanilla bean. Vanilla extract is vegan.
Why Isn’t Ghirardelli Chocolate Vegan?
Ghirardelli Chocolate is not vegan because it contains milk and sugar. Refined sugar is usually processed with animal bone char to make it whiter unless it is labeled as “organic,” “unfiltered,” or “raw.” And milk is a dairy product made from cow’s milk.
If you’re craving chocolates and you’re vegan, Ghirardelli Chocolate is not the brand for you. But don’t worry, there are plenty of delicious vegan chocolate brands that you can choose from.
Is Ghirardelli’s Milk Chocolate Sea Salt Caramel Bar Vegan?
No. Ghirardelli’s Milk Chocolate Sea Salt Caramel chocolate bars are not vegan because they contain butter, milk, and sugar.
This mouth-watering milk chocolate is not suitable for vegan consumption.
Are Milk Chocolate Caramel Brownie Squares Vegan?
No. Milk Chocolate Caramel Brownie Squares is not vegan because it contains milk, butter, and sugar.
This gooey chocolate brownie is not safe for vegan consumption.
Is the Dark Chocolate Raspberry Bar Vegan?
No. Dark Chocolate Raspberry Bar is not vegan because it only contains sugar and milk.
These fruity dark chocolate bars are not suitable for vegan consumption.
Is Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Vegan?
No. Despite not having any milk products, Ghirardelli dark chocolates contain refined sugar that may have been processed with bone char.
Not just most Ghirardelli dark chocolates but all Ghirardelli dark chocolates are not safe for vegan consumption.
Are Intense Dark 92% Cacao Dark Chocolate Squares Vegan?
No. Intense Dark 92% Cacao Dark Chocolate Squares are not vegan because they contain sugar and milk fat.
These Ghirardelli dark chocolates are not safe for vegan consumption.
Is the Intense Dark Blood Orange Dark Chocolate Bar Vegan?
No. Intense Dark Blood Orange Dark Chocolate Bar is not vegan because it contains sugar and milk fat.
This zesty dark chocolate bar is not suitable for vegan consumption.
Is the Ghirardelli Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Vegan?
No. Ghirardelli Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe is not vegan because it contains butter, eggs, and Ghirardelli chocolate chips, which contain milk and sugar.
These classic chocolate chip cookies are not safe for vegan consumption.
Is Ghirardelli Brownie Mix Vegan?
No. Ghirardelli Brownie Mix contains refined sugar and lactose from milk.
Ghirardelli Brownie Mix is not safe for vegan consumption.
Vegan Alternatives to Ghirardelli Chocolate
Looking for an alternative to Ghirardelli chocolate that is completely dairy free and suitable for your vegan diet? There are many delicious vegan chocolate brands on the market that are comparable in taste and texture to Ghirardelli. Here are some of my favorite vegan options:
- Grapefruit & Chia
- Hershey’s Signature Oat Made Classic Dark
- Vegan Dark Chocolate Bars
- Artisan Bar Collection
- Green & Black’s Organic Dark Chocolate
These are just a few of the many delicious vegan chocolate options available. So, if you’re looking for a Ghirardelli alternative, you’re sure to find one that you love.
There you have it! Although Ghirardelli chocolate is undeniably delicious, vegans may want to avoid it. Luckily, there’s no shortage of candy and chocolate bars, even vegan ones. There are many delicious vegan options on the market that make excellent alternatives to Ghirardelli. So, if you’re vegan and looking for a delicious chocolate fix, be sure to check out some of the delicious vegan chocolate options available. Enjoy!