Are Frosted Flakes Vegan and Cruelty Free? The Grrrrrrim Truth

Trying to figure out if Frosted Flakes are safe for vegans to consume can be a bit tough.

Makers of popular cereals like Frosted Flakes often mask the actual ingredients behind vague terms such as “natural colors and flavors,” and even when they do give you a full list, you don’t always know the whole truth about how those ingredients were made. 

To ensure that you are only consuming food that aligns with your vegan lifestyle and diet, I’ve investigated the ingredients and production processes of Frosted Flakes.

Here’s what I found.

Are Frosted Flakes Vegan?

No. Frosted Flakes are not vegan.

Frosted Flakes, one of Kellogg’s most popular cereals, are corn flakes coated with sugar. They get their crunch from soaking the corn flakes in sugar syrup.

The main ingredients in Frosted Flakes are corn, sugar, malt flavor, and salt. All of these ingredients are vegan-friendly except for sugar.

White sugar is not considered vegan because it is often processed with bone char. Bone char is made by heating animal bones in a furnace. Unless the sugar is labeled “raw,” “organic,” or “unrefined,” it is likely that it has been processed with bone char.

Additionally, Frosted Flakes also contain vitamin D3, which is often sourced from sheep’s wool. 

These animal-based ingredients and by-products make Frosted Flakes not vegan.

Are Frosted Flakes Cruelty Free?

Yes! Frosted Flakes cereal is cruelty free.

Frosted Flakes cereal is not tested on animals at any point of production, nor does it contain ingredients that are routinely tested on animals, such as artificial colors.

Kellogg’s, the makers of Frosted Flakes, does not condone animal testing in any way, shape, or form. The company has a long-standing commitment to not testing its products on animals.

Animal testing is an outdated and inhumane practice that should be stopped. It only leaves innocent animals disfigured, sick, or dead. There are many alternatives to animal testing that are more effective and humane.

Fortunately, more and more companies are moving away from animal testing and toward cruelty-free practices.

What Are Frosted Flakes Made Of?

Here are the Frosted Flakes ingredients:

  • Milled corn
  • Sugar
  • Malt flavor
  • Salt
  • Iron (ferric phosphate)
  • Niacinamide
  • Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride)
  • Vitamin B2 (riboflavin)
  • Vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride)
  • Folic acid
  • Vitamin D3
  • Vitamin B12

Let’s break down each ingredient of Frosted Flakes:

Milled corn

Milled corn is a type of whole-grain corn that has been ground into flour. It is a good source of fiber and antioxidants. In cereals, it gives a crunchy texture. Milled corn is vegan friendly.

Sugar

Cane sugar is a type of carbohydrate that is found in many foods and is used as a sweetener. Sugar is technically vegan, however, with most refined cane sugar being processed with animal bone char, it can barely be considered vegan friendly. Unless the cane sugar in the product is labeled “raw,” “organic,” or “unrefined,” it is likely that it has been processed with bone char and it cannot be considered vegan.

Malt flavor

Malt flavor is a type of flavoring that is made from malted barley. It is a common ingredient in many kinds of breakfast cereal and baked goods. Malt flavor is vegan friendly.

Salt

Salt is a type of mineral that is used to add flavor or as a preservative. It is vegan friendly.

Vitamins and minerals

Frosted Flakes contain a variety of vitamins and minerals such as iron (ferric phosphate), niacinamide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), folic acid, vitamin D3, and vitamin B12.

Iron is a type of mineral that is necessary for human health. It helps to transport oxygen in the blood and plays a role in many enzymatic processes. Iron is vegan friendly.

Niacinamide, also known as nicotinamide, is a type of vitamin B that helps the body convert food into energy. It is vegan friendly.

Vitamin B6 is a type of vitamin B that helps the body metabolize proteins. It is vegan friendly.

Vitamin B2 is a type of vitamin B that helps the body convert food into energy. It is vegan friendly.

Vitamin B1 is a type of vitamin B that helps the body metabolize carbohydrates. It is vegan friendly.

Folic acid, also known as folate, is a type of vitamin B that helps the body produce new cells. It is vegan friendly.

Vitamin D3 is a type of vitamin D that helps the body absorb calcium. It is often sourced from sheep’s wool, which makes it non-vegan.

Vitamin B12 is a type of vitamin that is necessary for human health. It helps to form red blood cells and plays a role in the nervous system. Vitamin B12 is vegan.

Why Aren’t Frosted Flakes Vegan?

Frosted Flakes cereal is not vegan because it contains refined sugar and Vitamin D3. Refined sugar is often processed with bone char, a type of charcoal that is made from the bones of animals, to filter and whiten the sugar. Vitamin D3 is often sourced from lanolin, which is a type of oil that is derived from sheep’s wool. These two ingredients make Frosted Flakes breakfast cereal unsuitable for a vegan diet.

Are Kellogg’s Chocolate Frosted Flakes Vegan?

No. Kellogg’s Chocolate Frosted Flakes cereal contains refined sugar and vitamin D3.

This breakfast cereal is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Are Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes Cinnamon French Toast Vegan?

No. Cinnamon Frosted Flakes cereal contains refined sugar and vitamin D3.

These cinnamon Frosted Flakes are not suitable for vegan consumption.

Are Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes Strawberry Milkshake Vegan?

No. Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes Strawberry Milkshake cereal contains refined sugar and vitamin D3.

This breakfast cereal is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Is Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes Cereal With Marshmallows Vegan?

No. Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes Cereal with Marshmallows contains refined sugar, gelatin, and vitamin D3.

This breakfast cereal is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Are Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes Cereal Bars Vegan?

No. Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes Cereal Bars contain refined sugar and nonfat milk.

This cereal product is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Are Kellogg’s Honey Nut Frosted Flakes Vegan?

No. Kellogg’s Honey Nut Frosted Flakes Cereals contain refined sugar, honey, molasses, and vitamin D3.

This Frosted Flakes breakfast cereal is not suitable for vegan consumption.

Vegan Alternatives to Frosted Flakes

If you are craving Frosted Flakes but want to stick to a vegan diet, there are so many great options available that taste just as good, if not better. Some of my favorites include:

These breakfast cereal brands use no animal products or by-products and taste just as good as Frosted Flakes. From Annie’s Frosted Oat Flakes to Nature’s Path Amazon Flakes, there are plenty of options for frosted flakes suitable for vegan consumption. You can find them at most health food stores or online.

Final Words

So, are Frosted Flakes vegan? Nope. Frosted Flakes cereal is not vegan. Strict vegans will want to avoid Frosted Flakes. But there are plenty of other delicious vegan breakfast cereals out there for you to choose from other than Frosted Flakes. 

You can enjoy them knowing that no animals were harmed in the making of your breakfast. So go out and try some vegan cereals today, but be sure to check the labels before you buy to make sure they haven’t snuck any non-vegan ingredients in there.