Are Dunkin’ Bagels Vegan and Cruelty Free? The Plain Truth

Trying to figure out whether Dunkin’ Donuts Bagels are vegan friendly can be challenging.

Bagels often contain many ingredients and some of them may be of animal origin.

To make sure that you’re only consuming food that aligns with your vegan diet and ethics, I’ve looked into the ingredients and production processes of Dunkin’ Bagels.

Here’s what I found.

Are Dunkin’ Donuts Bagels Vegan?

No. Dunkin’ Bagels are not vegan.

Dunkin’ Donuts is the home to some of the most delicious and iconic breakfast items. From its namesake donuts to its breakfast sandwiches and bagels with cream cheese. There’s something for everyone at Dunkin’ Donuts.

Unfortunately, Dunkin’ bagels are not vegan. The bagels at Dunkin’ Donuts contain refined sugar and molasses.

Sugar is naturally vegan, but because bone char, a black substance made from burned cow bones, is often used in the refining process, it’s very likely that the sugar in Dunkin’ Bagels is not vegan.

Molasses is a by-product of the sugar refining process and so is also often not vegan.

These two ingredients make it unlikely that Dunkin’ Bagels are vegan.

Are Dunkin’ Donuts Bagels Cruelty Free?

Yes! Dunkin’ Bagels are cruelty free.

Dunkin’ Donuts Bagels are not tested on animals at any point in their production nor do they contain ingredients that are routinely tested on animals, such as artificial colors.

Animal testing is an inhumane and outdated practice that involves subjecting animals to pain, suffering, and even death for the sake of human products. There are many alternatives to animal testing that are more effective and less cruel, so brands don’t have any excuse to continue this practice.

Fortunately, more and more companies are moving away from animal testing and are instead looking for more cruelty-free methods.

What Are Dunkin’ Bagels Made Of?

Here are the ingredients of Dunkin’ Cinnamon Raisin Bagels:

  • Enriched wheat flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid)
  • Water
  • Raisins
  • Sugar
  • Wheat gluten
  • Malted barley extract
  • Salt
  • Yeast
  • Cornmeal
  • Fermented wheat flour
  • Cinnamon
  • Caramel color
  • Molasses
  • Wheat flour
  • Dough conditioners (malted barley flour, enzymes)
  • Soy lecithin

Let’s break down each ingredient of Dunkin’ Cinnamon Raisin Bagels:

Enriched wheat flour

Enriched wheat flour is a type of flour that has been fortified with nutrients. It typically is made of wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, and folic acid.

Wheat flour is a powder made from the grinding of wheat and is the main ingredient in most types of bread.

Malted barley flour is flour made from malted barley, which has been germinated and then dried.

Niacin, also known as vitamin B₃, helps the body convert food into energy and plays a role in DNA repair.

Reduced iron is a form of iron that has been reduced down to its elemental state. It is often used as a dietary supplement.

Thiamin mononitrate, also known as vitamin B1, helps the body convert food into energy and plays a role in nerve function.

Riboflavin, also known as vitamin B2, helps the body convert food into energy and is important for red blood cell production.

Folic acid, also known as vitamin B9, helps the body produce new cells and plays a role in DNA synthesis.

These vitamins and minerals are all vegan friendly.

Water

Water is a key ingredient in any bagel recipe as it helps to bind the ingredients together. Water is a vegan ingredient.

Raisins

Raisins are dried grapes that add sweetness and flavor to the bagels. Raisins are a vegan ingredient.

Sugar

Sugar is a type of carbohydrate that provides sweetness and flavor to bagels. Sugar is commonly processed with animal bone char to make it white. Unless the sugar is labeled “raw,” “organic,” or “unrefined,” it is likely not vegan.

Wheat gluten

Wheat gluten is the protein found in wheat flour. Wheat gluten is a vegan ingredient.

Malted barley extract

Malted barley extract is made from malted barley, which has been germinated and then dried. Malted barley extract is a vegan ingredient.

Salt

Salt is a mineral that is used to add flavor and act as a preservative. Salt is a vegan ingredient.

Yeast

Yeast is a single-celled microorganism that helps the dough to rise. Yeast is a vegan ingredient.

Cornmeal

Cornmeal is a type of flour that is made from grinding dried corn kernels. It is used to add texture and flavor to the bagels. Cornmeal is a vegan ingredient.

Fermented wheat flour

Fermented wheat flour is a type of flour that has been treated with yeast or bacteria. This process helps to break down the starches in the flour, making it more easily digestible. Fermented wheat flour is a vegan ingredient.

Cinnamon

Cinnamon is a spice that adds flavor and sweetness to bagels. Cinnamon is a vegan ingredient.

Caramel color

Caramel color is a food coloring that is used to add color to bagels. Caramel color is potentially non-vegan because it is often made with bone char-filtered sugar. Strict vegans may want to avoid caramel color.

Molasses

Molasses is a type of syrup that is made from sugarcane or sugar beets. It is a by-product of the sugar refining process making it very likely not vegan.

Dough conditioners (malted barley flour, enzymes)

Dough conditioners are ingredients that are added to the dough to improve its texture and extend its shelf life.

Malted barley flour is a type of flour that is made from malted barley, which has been germinated and then dried.

Enzymes are proteins that act as catalysts in chemical reactions.

These dough conditioners are vegan.

Soy lecithin

Soy lecithin is a type of fat that is derived from soybeans. It is used as an emulsifier in many processed foods. Soy lecithin is a vegan ingredient.

Why Aren’t Dunkin’ Donuts Bagels Vegan?

Dunkin’ Bagels are not vegan because they contain refined sugar and molasses. Bone char, an animal by-product, is still widely used in the sugar industry, thus making sugar and molasses very likely to have been produced with bone char. If you’re craving bagels, Dunkin’ is not the place to go.

Are Dunkin’ Donuts Everything Bagels Vegan?

No. Dunkin’ Donuts Everything Bagels contain refined sugar and molasses.

This bagel is not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Dunkin’ Donuts Sesame Bagels Vegan?

No. Dunkin’ Sesame Bagels contain refined sugar and molasses.

This bagel is not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Dunkin’ Donuts Bagels With Cream Cheese Vegan?

No. Dunkin’ Bagels with Cream Cheese contains cheese, refined sugar, and molasses.

This menu item is not safe for vegan consumption.

Is Dunkin’ Donuts Multigrain Bagel Vegan?

No. Dunkin’ Donuts Multigrain Bagel contains refined sugar and molasses.

This bagel is not safe for vegan consumption.

Are There Any Vegan Options at Dunkin’ Donuts?

If you’re at Dunkin’ Donuts and are wondering if there are any vegan options, the answer is yes. Dunkin’ Donuts does have items on its menu that are vegan.

  • Plain Coffee (Hot or Iced Coffee)
  • Cold Brew Coffee
  • Hot Tea
  • Iced Macchiato (with oat milk and coconut milk)
  • Iced Tea (Iced Green Tea)
  • Iced Latte (with oat milk and coconut milk)
  • English Muffin
  • Hash Browns
  • Almond Milk
  • Flavor Shots (Toasted Almond, Vanilla, Hazelnut)

These Dunkin’ Donuts menu items are all vegan and delicious! Should you find yourself at Dunkin’ Donuts, you now know that you can eat vegan at Dunkin. There are several vegan options available to you.

You should note that Dunkin’s Mocha Swirl is also on its vegan menu, but this item contains refined sugar, as well, and is best avoided by strict vegans. 

Vegan Alternatives to Dunkin’ Bagels

This breakfast treat may not be vegan, but there are plenty of other delicious vegan bagel options out there. Some of my favorites include:

These are just some of the vegan-friendly bagels that you can try. With so many delicious vegan bagel options on the market, it’s easy to find a replacement for Dunkin’ Bagels.

Final Words

So, there you have it! Unfortunately, Dunkin’ Bagels are not vegan because they contain refined sugar and molasses. However, there are some other options out there for vegan bagels. Many grocery stores now offer a variety of vegan bagels, so you’re sure to find one that you like. But as always, be sure to check the label before you buy to make sure that it is indeed vegan.