Are Dum Dums Vegan and Cruelty-Free? The Sticky Truth

Trying to work out if Dum Dums are safe for vegans to consume can be challenging.

Lollipops tend to contain many ingredients and some of them may be animal products.

To ensure that you’re only eating food that aligns with your vegan lifestyle and diet, I’ve looked into the ingredients and production processes of Dum Dums.

Here’s what I found.

Are Dum Dums Vegan?

No. Dum Dums are not vegan.

Dum Dums is a brand of lollipop candies packaged by Spangler Candy Company. Dum Dums lollipops come in a variety of flavors, such as cherry, blue raspberry, root beer, mystery flavor, and cotton candy.

Dum Dums lollipops contain no animal-derived ingredients, so it may seem that Dum Dums are vegan at first glance. However, Dum Dums contain refined sugar. Sugar is naturally vegan, but many brands of sugar use bone char to process and refine.

Bone char is a type of activated carbon that is made from the bones of cattle. It is used to remove impurities from sugar and make it whiter.

Unfortunately, Dum Dums are not safe for vegan consumption. But the good news is that there are plenty of other delicious vegan candy options out there.

Are Dum Dums Cruelty-Free?

No. Dum Dums are not cruelty-free.

Dum Dums lollipops themselves are not tested on animals. However, they contain artificial flavors and colors, which are routinely tested on animals.

Animal testing is an inhumane and outdated practice that involves subjecting animals to cruel and often painful experiments that leave them disfigured, sick, and dead. These tests are conducted to assess the safety of products for humans.

Thankfully, many companies have already stopped testing on animals as they have begun to realize that there are other ways to test products without harming animals and consumers don’t want to contribute to the suffering of animals.

What Are Dum Dums Made Of?

Here are the ingredients of Original Dum Dums:

  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Citric acid
  • Malic acid
  • Salt
  • Artificial flavor
  • Color added (includes: Red 40, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Blue 1)

Let’s break down each ingredient of Dum Dums:

Sugar

Sugar is a type of carbohydrate that is found in many plants. It is often used as a sweetener in food and drinks. Sugar is non-vegan because bone char is still widely used in the sugar industry. Unless the sugar in the product is labeled “raw,” “organic,” or “unrefined,” it’s probably not vegan.

Corn syrup

Corn syrup is a type of sugar that is made from cornstarch. It is used to sweeten food and can be found in many processed foods. Sugar and corn syrup are sometimes added together to make a product sweeter. Corn syrup is a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Citric acid

Citric acid is a type of sour flavoring that is found in many fruits and vegetables. It can also be made synthetically. Citric acid is vegan friendly.

Malic acid

Malic acid is a type of sour flavoring that is found in many fruits and vegetables. It can also be made synthetically. Malic acid is vegan friendly.

Salt

Salt is a type of mineral that is found in many rocks and plants. It is used to add flavor to food or as a preservative. Salt is vegan.

Artificial flavor

Unlike natural flavorings, artificial flavors are chemicals that are made in a lab to mimic the taste of natural flavors. They are often used to enhance the taste of food. Artificial flavors are vegan-friendly ingredients.

Color added (includes: Red 40, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Blue 1)

Food coloring agents are used to add color to food. It is made from synthetic dyes. Food coloring is a vegan-friendly, though not cruelty-free, ingredient.

Why Aren’t Dum Dums Vegan?

Dum Dums products are not vegan because they contain refined sugar, which is usually processed with animal bone char. Unless the product specifically states that the sugar they’re using is raw, organic, or unrefined, it’s not vegan. So, if you’re looking for a vegan lollipop, you’re better off looking for another brand.

Are Original Dum Dums Vegan?

No. Dum Dums contain refined sugar, which is usually processed with animal bone char.

These candies are not suitable for vegans.

Are Dum Dums Hawaiian Punch Lollipops Vegan?

No. Dum Dums Hawaiian Punch lollipops contain refined sugar.

These lollipops are not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Dum Dums Color Party Lollipops Vegan?

No. Dum Dums Color Party lollipops contain refined sugar.

These candy mixes are not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Dum Dums Tropical Mix Lollipops Vegan?

No. Dum Dums Tropical Mix lollipops contain refined sugar.

These lollipops are not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Dum Dums Bunny Pops Lollipops Vegan?

No. Dum Dums Bunny Pops lollipops contain refined sugar.

These lollipops are not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Dum Dums Heart Pops Lollipops Vegan?

No. Dum Dums Heart Pops lollipops contain refined sugar.

These lollipops are not safe for vegan consumption.

Vegan Alternatives to Dum Dums

If you’re in the mood for some sweet treats but want to stick to your vegan diet, there are many candy brands that make delicious vegan lollipops. Here are some of my favorites:

These vegan lollipops are just some of the delicious vegan candy options that are available. You won’t be missing out on anything by avoiding Dum Dums products.

Final Words

So, are Dum Dums vegan? No. Dum Dums products are not vegan because they contain refined sugar. The good news is that there are plenty of delicious vegan candy options available. Vegans eat lollipops too! You just have to know where to look for them.