Figuring out whether Donut Friend is safe for vegans to consume can be challenging.
Donuts often contain many ingredients and some of them may be of animal origin.
To make sure that you are only consuming food that aligns with your vegan lifestyle and diet, I’ve looked into the ingredients and production process of Donut Friend.
Here’s what I found.
Is Donut Friend Vegan?
Yes! Donut Friend makes 100% vegan donuts.
Donut Friend confirmed in the FAQs section of its website that everything in its shop is vegan. Its donuts are free of eggs and dairy, and it uses soybean oil for frying.
In addition, Donut Friend also states that the sugars used are beet sugar and cane sugar that have not been processed with bone char. If you’re concerned about whether the sugar is filtered with bone char, you can be confident that it is not!
However, it is worth noting that these donuts are not gluten free. And some of the fillings or toppings may contain nuts and soy. So, if you have severe allergies to these ingredients, you must take caution.
Nonetheless, Donut Friend is a must try if you’re looking for delicious vegan donuts in Los Angeles!
Is Donut Friend Cruelty Free?
Yes. Donut Friend is cruelty free.
Donut Friend does not test its products on animals during the manufacturing and production processes, and it does not use any animal-tested ingredients, such as artificial flavors or colors.
Animal testing is a cruel and unethical process that causes animals pain, deformity, and death. There are many cruelty-free alternatives to animal testing, so there is no reason for any food brands to continue this cruel practice.
It’s good to know that Donut Friend does not contribute to any animal cruelty practices.
What Is Donut Friend Made Of?
Here are the ingredients of Donut Friend:
- Enriched bleached wheat flour
- Canola oil
- Baking powder
- Vanilla extract
- Caramel glaze
- Toasted pecans
- Dark chocolate sauce
- Sea salt
Let’s break down each ingredient of Donut Friend:
Enriched bleached wheat flour
Enriched bleached wheat flour is a type of wheat flour that has been bleached with chlorine gas. It is often used in baked goods because it has a higher protein content than other types of flour, which results in a chewy texture. It is vegan.
Water is used as a binding agent in donut batter. It is vegan.
Sugar is a sweetener often used in baking. Most refined sugar brands are filtered with bone char, but Donut Friend uses sugar that has not been processed with bone char. It is vegan.
Canola oil is a type of vegetable oil that is extracted from the seeds of the canola plant. It is often used in frying because it has a high smoke point. It is vegan.
Baking powder is a leavening agent that helps donuts rise. It is vegan.
Salt is a flavor enhancer and is used in small amounts in baking. It is vegan.
Vanilla extract is a flavoring made from vanilla beans. It is used to flavor many desserts. It is vegan.
The caramel glaze is made of sugar, water, corn syrup solids, natural flavorings, and salt. All of these ingredients are vegan friendly.
Pecans are a type of tree nut. They are a common allergen, but they are vegan friendly.
Dark chocolate sauce
Dark chocolate sauce is a type of chocolate that does not contain milk. It is used as a topping or filling in some Donut Friend’s donuts. Dark chocolate sauce is vegan friendly.
Sea salt is salt that comes specifically from the sea. Sea salt is considered better than table salt because since it is formed from the evaporation of seawater, it undergoes less processing and retains more minerals. It is used for flavor and to preserve food. It is vegan friendly.
Why Is Donut Friend Vegan?
Donut Friend is vegan because its cake donuts are free of animal products and are fried in soybean oil. Also, the sugars used are beet sugar and cane sugar that have not been processed with bone char. This is a 100% vegan donut shop.
Not only that, but Donut Friend also has vegan, soy-based ice cream and shakes!! Vegan ice cream is becoming more and more common, but it’s still a bit of a rarity.
Are Angry Samoa Donuts Vegan?
Yes! Donut Friend Angry Samoa is vegan. It does not contain any animal ingredients, only the basic Donut Friend ingredients plus toasted coconut. Angry Samoa is free of egg and dairy, and the sugar used is not processed with bone char.
The Angry Samoa donut is safe for vegan consumption.
Are Fritter Seems Forever Donuts Vegan?
Yes! Donut Friend Fritter Seems Forever is vegan. Made of raised dough, apple pie filling, and cinnamon, it does not contain any animal ingredients. It is free of egg, and dairy, and the sugar used is not processed with bone char.
The Fritter Seems Forever donut is safe for vegan consumption.
Are Green Teagan and Sara Donuts Vegan?
Yes! Donut Friend Green Teagan and Sara are vegan. Made of raised donut, matcha green tea glaze, and black sesame seeds, it does not contain any animal ingredients. It is free of egg and dairy, and the sugar used is not processed with bone char.
The Green Teagan and Sara donut is safe for vegan consumption.
Are The Strawberry So Far Donuts Vegan?
Yes! Donut Friend’s The Strawberry So Far is vegan. These regular donuts do not contain any animal ingredients. Made of raised donut, strawberry glaze, and fresh strawberries, these donuts are free of egg and dairy, and the sugar used is not processed with bone char.
Donut Friend The Strawberry So Far is safe for vegan consumption.
Are Rites of Sprinkles Donuts Vegan?
Yes! Rites of Sprinkles donuts are vegan. Made of vanilla cake, chocolate or vanilla glaze, and rainbow sprinkles, these donuts don’t contain any animal ingredients. They are free of egg and dairy, and the sugar used is not processed with bone char.
When you order Rites of Sprinkles, you can either choose chocolate hazelnut spread/glaze or vanilla glaze—whatever fits your mood that day.
Rites of Sprinkles donuts are safe for vegan consumption.
What About the Other Donut Flavors?
Donut Friend has 26 regular menu flavors of donuts, too many to list here. They are ALL vegan.
Is Donut Friend Ice Cream Vegan?
Yes! The ice cream flavors are vegan too. They don’t contain any animal ingredients, they’re free of egg and dairy, and the sugar is not processed with bone char.
Here are the ice cream flavors:
- Corn Against
- Banana Kill
- Butter Pecan 08
- Mint Town
- Mock Orange
- Plain Thai Teas
- Rocky Roadolato
- Taro Melos
- X-ray Speculoos
When you order Donut Friend’s vegan ice cream, you can choose a cup or cone. The cones are vegan as well! You can also add toppings, such as soy-based whipped cream and strawberry jam, or choose from its optional cookies, such as chocolate chips or oreo cookies.
Are Donut Friend Shakes Vegan?
Yes! Donut Friend shakes are vegan. They don’t contain any animal ingredients. They are free of egg and dairy, and the sugar used is not processed with bone char. Here are some of the flavors:
- Bananaversary Shake
- Strawberry lab Shake
- Green Teagan and Sara Shake
- Mint Town Shake
- Mock Orange Shake
These shakes can be ordered with soy milk, almond milk, or coconut milk. You can also add some essential and optional cookies, like chocolate chips or graham crackers.
So, there you have it! The answer to the question “Is Donut Friend Vegan?” is a resounding yes! And not only vegan, these donuts taste amazing. All of its delicious donuts, ice creams, shakes, ice cream sandwiches, and other products are vegan friendly. So if you’re looking for a delicious treat, be sure to check out this vegan donut shop!