Are Disney Churros Vegan and Cruelty Free? The Twisted Truth

Figuring out whether Disney Churros are safe for vegans to consume can be a bit tough.

Churros often contain many ingredients, and some of them may be animal derived.

To make sure that you are only consuming food that aligns with your vegan diet and lifestyle, I’ve looked into the ingredients and production processes of Disney churros.

Here’s what I found.

Are Disney Churros Vegan?

No. Disney churros are not vegan.

Disney churros are one of Disney Parks’ most popular snacks. The fried-dough pastry is coated in cinnamon and sugar and served with a chocolate dipping sauce. Disney’s churros are actually Tio Pepe’s Churros, created by J&J Snack Foods.

For vegan Disney Parks lovers, this tasty treat is off-limits. The churros contain several animal-based ingredients, including eggs, the milk derivative sodium caseinate, refined sugar, and mono- and diglycerides.

Egg and sodium caseinate are both animal products.

Refined sugar is technically vegan but is often filtered using animal bone char, a porous, black, odorless substance made from the bones of cattle.

Mono- and diglycerides can be plant or animal derived, but they are more often derived from animals because it is cheaper.

So, unfortunately for vegans, Disney churros are not vegan. If you’re in Disneyland and looking for something to munch on, there are plenty of other vegan-friendly options at Disney Parks.

Are Disney Churros Cruelty Free?

Yes. Disney churros are cruelty free.

Disney churros are not tested on animals at any stage of their production, nor do they contain ingredients that are tested on animals, such as artificial colors.

Animal testing is a gruesome and outdated practice that is still used by some food brands. This only leaves innocent animals disfigured, maimed, and often dead. There surely are ways to ensure the safety of our food without harming any animals.

What Are Disney Churros Made Of?

Here are the ingredients of Disney churros:

  • Wheat starch
  • Water
  • Soybean oil (soybean oil, butylated hydroxytoluene [BHT], dimethylpolysiloxane)
  • Yellow corn flour
  • Sodium caseinate
  • Eggs
  • Artificial flavor
  • Cinnamon
  • Guar gum
  • Leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate)
  • Mono- and diglycerides
  • Propylene glycol
  • Mono- and diesters of fatty acids
  • Salt
  • Soy lecithin
  • Sugar

Let’s break down each ingredient of Disney churros:

Wheat starch

Wheat starch is a carbohydrate that is derived from wheat. It is commonly used as a thickening agent in food. Wheat starch is a vegan ingredient.

Water

Water helps with the dough consistency and is crucial for basically everything. Water is a vegan ingredient.

Soybean oil (soybean oil, butylated hydroxytoluene [BHT], dimethylpolysiloxane)

Soybean oil is a vegetable oil that is extracted from soybeans. It is commonly used in frying foods. Soybean oil is a vegan ingredient.

Butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT) is a synthetic compound that is added to food as a preservative. BHT is considered to be safe for human consumption by the FDA. BHT is a vegan ingredient.

Dimethylpolysiloxane is a silicon-based organic polymer that is used as an anti-foaming agent. It is considered safe for human consumption by the FDA. Dimethylpolysiloxane is a vegan ingredient.

Yellow corn flour

Corn flour is a fine powder that is made from ground corn. It is commonly used in baking. Corn flour is a vegan ingredient.

Sodium caseinate

Sodium caseinate is a milk protein that is used as a stabilizer and thickener. Sodium caseinate is not a vegan ingredient.

Eggs

Eggs are often used in baking as they help bind ingredients together and add structure to baked goods. Eggs are not vegan.

Artificial flavor

Artificial flavor is a flavor that is made in a lab. It is used to enhance the taste of food. Artificial flavor is a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Cinnamon

Cinnamon is a spice that is made from the inner bark of trees in the genus Cinnamomum. Cinnamon is used as a flavoring agent in food. Cinnamon is a vegan ingredient.

Guar gum

Guar gum is a food additive that is made from the guar bean. It is used as a thickener and emulsifier in food. Guar gum is a vegan ingredient.

Leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate)

Leavening is a process in baking that helps the bread to rise. Baking soda and sodium acid pyrophosphate are common leavening agents. Both baking soda and sodium acid pyrophosphate are vegan ingredients.

Mono- and diglycerides

Monoglycerides and diglycerides are fatty acids that are used as emulsifiers in food. Mono- and diglycerides can be of animal and plant origin. However, animal-sourced mono- and diglycerides are cheaper to produce, so they are more commonly used. It is not vegan unless otherwise specified.

Propylene glycol

Propylene glycol is a synthetic compound that is used as a humectant, solvent, and emulsifier in food. Propylene glycol is considered to be safe for human consumption by the FDA. Propylene glycol is a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Mono- and diesters of fatty acids

Mono- and diesters of fatty acids are compounds that are made from the esterification of a fatty acid with an alcohol. Mono- and diesters of fatty acids are used as emulsifiers in food. Mono- and diesters of fatty acids can be of animal or plant origin. However, as animal mono- and diesters of fatty acids are cheaper to produce, they are more commonly used.

Salt

Salt is a mineral used in baking to enhance the flavor of food and improve the texture of some baked goods. Salt is a vegan ingredient.

Soy lecithin

Soy lecithin is a compound that is made from soybean oil. It is used as an emulsifier in food. Soy lecithin is a vegan ingredient.

Sugar

Refined sugar usually comes from sugar cane or sugar beets. It is used as a sweetener in many foods and desserts. It is commonly filtered using animal bone char, which makes it not vegan. Unless the label of the product specifies that the sugar is either raw, organic, or unrefined, it is not vegan.

Why Aren’t Disney Churros Vegan?

Disney churros are not vegan because they contain eggs, the milk derivative sodium caseinate, refined sugar, and mono- and diglycerides. These ingredients make it clear that Disney does not have vegan churros. However, if you are looking for a vegan-friendly treat at Disney, there are plenty of other options!

Is Disney Dole Whip Vegan?

No. Disney Dole Whip soft serve contains refined sugar.

This frozen treat is not safe for vegan consumption.

Is Disney Popcorn Vegan?

No. Disney popcorn is not vegan because it contains refined sugar.

This popcorn is not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Oga’s Cantina Beers on Tap Vegan?

Yes! The beers on tap at Disney’s Oga’s Cantina (Gold Squadron Lager, White Wampa Ale, Gamorrean Ale, and Bad Motivator IPA) are vegan. They do not contain any animal-derived ingredients nor are they processed with animal-based fining agents.

These beers are safe for vegan consumption.

Are Disney Corn Dogs Vegan?

No. Disney Corn Dogs contain actual beef hotdogs.

This snack is not safe for vegan consumption.

Is Disney’s Mickey Bar Vegan?

No. Disney’s Mickey Bar, a Nestle ice cream product in the shape of Mickey Mouse, contains dairy products and refined sugar.

This frozen treat is not safe for vegan consumption.

What About Other Disney Food Items?

There are plenty of other vegan options that you can enjoy. Here are some of the vegan lunch and dinner menu options you can enjoy at Disney world:

  • Veggie burgers (made with Impossible Burger or Beyond Burger patty, just ask to make sure the buns are vegan)
  • Gluten-free vegan Mickey waffles
  • Almond milk
  • Soy milk
  • Fresh fruit
  • Pineapple juice
  • French fries
  • Vegan ice cream (100% dairy-free)
  • Venus Vegetarian Pizza (just order this vegan pizza without pesto and ask for vegan cheese)
  • BBQ Tofu

Vegan Alternatives to Disney Churros

Sadly, vegans would have to miss out on this iconic Disney treat. But never fear, there are churros on the market that you can still enjoy. Here are some of my favorites:

Or you can make your own churros at home. There are also plenty of vegan-friendly churros recipes online that you can follow!

These vegan food products and recipes are all delicious and free of animal-derived ingredients.

Final Words

So, there you have it! Disney Churros are not vegan. This Disney classic contains a number of ingredients that vegans should avoid. However, there are plenty of other vegan-friendly options at Disney that you can enjoy! So don’t worry, you won’t go hungry on your next Disney trip. Enjoy the Magic!