Are Corn Pops Vegan and Cruelty Free? The Popping Truth

Trying to figure out if Corn Pops are safe for vegans to consume can be challenging.

Breakfast cereals often contain many ingredients and some of them may be animal-derived.

To ensure that you’re only consuming food that aligns with your vegan diet and lifestyle, I’ve investigated the ingredients and production process of Corn Pops.

Here’s what I found out.

Are Corn Pops Vegan?

No. Corn Pops is not a vegan product.

Corn Pops, which belongs to the Kellogg’s brand of breakfast cereal products, makes a “crunchy, sweet, and nutty” breakfast option, according to its website. The cereal is made up of whole grain cornmeal and is shaped like miniature puffs.

Unfortunately, vegans cannot enjoy this cereal because it contains refined sugar and Vitamin D3.

Sugar comes from plant sources, thus it’s a vegan product. However, the sugar industry often uses animal bone char—a by-product from the cattle industry—to process and bleach sugar. Unless the sugar used is labeled “raw,” “organic,” or “unrefined,” it is probably not vegan.

Vitamin D is derived from lanolin, which is extracted from sheep’s wool.

These two ingredients make Corn Pops unsuitable for vegans.

Are Corn Pops Cruelty Free?

Yes! Corn Pops are cruelty free.

Corn Pops are not tested on animals at any point of production or manufacturing, nor do they contain ingredients that are tested on animals, such as artificial colors.

Kellogg’s, Corn Pops’ parent company, has a policy on the humane treatment of animals. This includes not using animals to test their products or ingredients and working with suppliers who have the same policy.

Animal testing is an inhumane and outdated practice that causes immense suffering to animals and hence needs to be stopped. So, it’s good to know that Corn Pops do not contribute to this inhumane practice.

What Are Corn Pops Made Of?

Here are the ingredients of Corn Pops:

  • Milled corn
  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Molasses
  • Salt
  • Vegetable oil (hydrogenated coconut, soybean, and/or cottonseed)
  • Mixed tocopherols (vitamin E) for freshness
  • Annatto extract color
  • Wheat starch
  • Reduced iron
  • Vitamin B3 (niacinamide)
  • Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride)
  • Vitamin B2 (riboflavin)
  • Vitamin B1 (thiamine hydrochloride)
  • Folic acid
  • Vitamin D3
  • Vitamin B12

Let’s break down each ingredient of Corn Pops:

Milled corn

Milled corn is finely ground corn. It’s the main ingredient of Corn Pops and what gives it the characteristic corn flakes flavor and texture. Milled corn is vegan.

Sugar

Sugar is a sweetener made from either sugar cane or beets. Unless the sugar is labeled “raw,” “organic,” or “unrefined,” it’s probably not vegan.

Corn syrup

Corn syrup is a thick, sticky, sweet liquid made from cornstarch. It’s used as a sweetener to add texture and consistency to food. Corn syrup is vegan.

Molasses

Molasses is a thick, dark syrup made from sugar cane or sugar beets during the refining process. Sugar is often not vegan, so molasses is also likely not vegan.

Salt

Salt is a mineral composed of sodium chloride. It’s used to add flavor to food. Salt is vegan.

Vegetable oil

Vegetable oils are plant-based oils that are used to add flavor, texture, and consistency to food. The vegetable oils used in Corn Pops are hydrogenated coconut, soybean, and/or cottonseed oil. These oils are vegan.

Mixed tocopherols (vitamin E) for freshness

Tocopherols are a type of vitamin E that’s used as an antioxidant to prevent food from going rancid. Mixed tocopherols are vegan.

Annatto extract color

Annatto is a natural coloring made from the seeds of the achiote tree. It’s used to add color to food. Annatto is vegan.

Wheat starch

Wheat starch is a type of starch made from wheat. It’s used to add texture and consistency to food. Wheat starch is vegan.

Reduced iron

Reduced iron is iron that’s been treated to make it easier for the body to absorb. It’s used as a nutrient supplement in food. Reduced iron is vegan.

Niacinamide

Niacinamide, or vitamin B3, helps the body convert food into energy. Niacinamide is vegan.

Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride)

Vitamin B6, or pyridoxine hydrochloride, is a type of vitamin B that’s commonly added to breakfast cereals to increase the levels of pyridoxal phosphate in plasma, whatever that means. Vitamin B6 is vegan.

Vitamin B2 (riboflavin)

Vitamin B2, or riboflavin, is a type of vitamin B that’s added to food for its nutritional value. Vitamin B2 is vegan.

Vitamin B1 (thiamine hydrochloride)

Vitamin B1, or thiamine hydrochloride, is a type of vitamin B added to food for its nutritional value. Vitamin B12 is vegan.

Folic acid

Folic acid is a type of vitamin B that’s important for the proper function of the brain and nervous system. It’s found naturally in leafy green vegetables but not in corn. Folic acid is vegan.

Vitamin D3

Vitamin D3 is a type of vitamin D that’s important for the absorption of calcium. It’s usually derived from lanolin, which is a type of oil found in sheep’s wool. Vitamin D from lanolin is not vegan.

Vitamin B12 (cobalamin)

Vitamin B12 is a nutrient that’s important for the proper function of the brain and nervous system. It’s derived naturally from bacteria. Vitamin B12 is vegan.

Why Aren’t Kellogg’s Corn Pops Vegan?

Kellogg’s Corn Pops are not vegan because they contain refined sugar and vitamin D3. Most sugar is processed in bone char to make it white, and vitamin D3 comes from an animal source, lanolin, a wax secreted in sheep’s wool. These ingredients make Corn Pops non-vegan.

Are Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes Vegan?

No. Frosted Flakes Cereal contains refined sugar and vitamin D3.

This breakfast cereal is not safe for vegan consumption.

Is Kellogg’s Krave Chocolate Vegan?

No. Krave Chocolate Cereal contains refined sugar, vitamin D3, and a milk derivative, whey.

This breakfast cereal is not safe for vegan consumption.

Is Kellogg’s Special K Original Vegan?

No. Special K Original Cereal contains refined sugar and vitamin D3.

This cereal is not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Kellogg’s Froot Loops Vegan?

No. Froot Loops contain refined sugar and vitamin D3.

This cereal is not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Kellogg’s Apple Jacks Vegan?

 No. Apple Jacks contain refined sugar and vitamin D3.

This cereal is not safe for vegan consumption.

Vegan Alternatives to Corn Pops

Suddenly craving Corn Pops but want to stick to your vegan diet? There are plenty of vegan alternatives out there that are just as good, if not better. Here are some of my favorites:

These vegan alternative cereals are available either at your local market or online. Most of these vegan cereals are organic, gluten free, and whole grain cereal products.

Final Words

So, are Corn Pops vegan? Sadly, no. Kellogg’s Corn Pops are not vegan because they contain refined sugar and Vitamin D3. The good news is there are plenty of vegan alternatives out there that are just as good, if not better. So next time you’re in the cereal aisle, be sure to grab one of these vegan cereals instead.