Are Cool Ranch Doritos Vegan and Cruelty Free? The Uncool Truth

Trying to figure out if Cool Ranch Doritos are vegan can be challenging.

The makers of chips often mask their ingredients under vague terms such as “natural flavors,” and even if they give you a full list, it’s not always clear what everything is.

To ensure that you’re only consuming food that aligns with your vegan lifestyle, I’ve looked into the ingredients and production process of Cool Ranch Doritos.

Here’s what I found out.

Are Cool Ranch Doritos Vegan?

No. Cool Ranch Doritos are not vegan.

Doritos is one of the most popular brands of tortilla chips, and Cool Ranch flavor is a consumer favorite. Unfortunately for vegans, these chips are not an option.

Cool Ranch Doritos contains a number of dairy products, as well as refined sugar.

Many companies processed their sugar using bone char, a black, porous, and absorbent form of carbon that’s created from the ground-up bones of animals. Unless the sugar is labeled “organic,” “raw,” or “unrefined,” there’s a high likelihood that it was processed using bone char.

Are Cool Ranch Doritos Cruelty Free?

No. Cool Ranch Doritos are not cruelty free.

PepsiCo, Doritos’ parent company, may not test their final products on animals, but their Cool Ranch flavor contains artificial flavors and colors that are routinely tested on animals.

These tests involve feeding animals large amounts of the chemical, force-feeding it to them through tubes, or putting it on their skin and eyes to observe any adverse reactions. Some of the animals used in these tests include rats, mice, guinea pigs, and rabbits. Many of them suffer organ damage, skin irritation, and internal bleeding.

Animal testing is an inhumane and outdated practice. There are food coloring and flavoring options that don’t require animal testing, but PepsiCo has yet to make the switch.

What Are Cool Ranch Doritos Made Of?

Here are the ingredients of Cool Ranch Doritos:

  • Corn
  • Vegetable oil (corn, canola, and/or sunflower oil)
  • Maltodextrin (made from corn)
  • Salt
  • Tomato powder
  • Lactose
  • Whey
  • Skim milk
  • Onion powder
  • Sugar
  • Garlic powder
  • Monosodium glutamate
  • Cheddar cheese (milk, cheese cultures, salt, enzymes)
  • Dextrose
  • Malic acid
  • Corn syrup solids
  • Buttermilk
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Sodium acetate
  • Artificial color (Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 5)
  • Spice
  • Citric acid
  • Disodium inosinate
  • Disodium guanylate

Let’s break down each ingredient of Cool Ranch Doritos:

Corn

Corn is a yellow or white flinty grain that’s used as a food source. It’s also used to make many products, such as tortilla chips, cereal, popcorn, and biofuel. Corn is a vegan ingredient.

Vegetable oil

Vegetable oils are extracted from plants. The three most common types of vegetable oils used in Doritos Cool Ranch are corn oil, canola oil, and sunflower oil. All three of these oils are vegan.

Maltodextrin (made from corn)

Maltodextrin is a white powder that’s made from starchy foods, such as potatoes, rice, and corn. It’s often used as a food additive or thickener. Maltodextrin is vegan.

Salt

Salt is a mineral made up of sodium and chlorine. It’s often used to add flavor or as a preservative in food. Salt is vegan.

Tomato powder

Tomato powder is a red powder made from dehydrated tomatoes. It’s often used as a seasoning or to add color. Tomato powder is vegan.

Lactose

Lactose is a sugar that’s found in milk and other dairy products. It’s used to sweeten food and add flavor. Lactose is not vegan.

Whey

Whey is a type of protein that’s found in milk and other dairy products. It’s often used as a food additive or supplement. Whey is not vegan.

Skim milk

Skim milk is a type of milk that has had the cream removed. It’s often used in processed foods to add flavor, texture, and nutrition. Skim milk is not vegan.

Onion powder

Onion powder is a seasoning made from dehydrated onions. It’s often used to add flavor or as a colorant in food. Onion powder is vegan.

Sugar

Sugar is a type of carbohydrate that’s found in many plants and fruits. It’s often used to sweeten food. Sugar is non-vegan unless raw, organic, or unrefined.

Garlic powder

Garlic powder is a seasoning made from dehydrated garlic. Garlic powder is vegan.

Monosodium glutamate

Monosodium glutamate (MSG) is a type of salt that’s often used as a flavor enhancer in food. MSG is a vegan ingredient.

Cheddar cheese

Cheddar cheese is a type of milk that’s been curdled and aged. Cheddar cheese is made from milk, cheese cultures, salt, and enzymes. Cheddar cheese is not vegan.

Dextrose

Dextrose is a type of sugar often used as a sweetener or flavor enhancer in food. Dextrose is vegan depending on its source.

Malic acid

Malic acid is a type of organic compound that’s found in many fruits and vegetables. It’s often used as a flavoring agent in food. Malic acid is vegan.

Corn syrup solids

Corn syrup solids are made from corn starch. It’s often used as a thickener or sweetener in food. Corn syrup solids may be vegan or not depending on their source.

Buttermilk

Buttermilk is a type of milk that’s been cultured or soured. It’s often used in baking or as a thickener in food. Buttermilk is not vegan.

Natural and artificial flavors

Natural and artificial flavors are used to add flavor to food. Natural flavors may or may not be depending on their source, but artificial flavors are vegan.

Sodium acetate

Sodium acetate is a type of salt that’s often used as a preservative in food. Sodium acetate is vegan.

Artificial color

Artificial color is used to add color to food. This flavor uses the colors Red 40, Blue 40, and Yellow 40. Artificial colors are vegan.

Spice

Spices are used to add flavor and color to food. Spices are vegan.

Citric acid

Citric acid is a type of organic compound that’s found in many fruits and vegetables. Citric acid is vegan.

Disodium inosinate

Disodium inosinate is a type of salt that’s often used as a flavor enhancer in food. Disodium inosinate may or may not be vegan depending on its source.

Disodium guanylate

Disodium guanylate is a type of salt that’s often used as a flavor enhancer in food. Disodium guanylate may or may not be vegan depending on its source.

Why Aren’t Cool Ranch Doritos Vegan?

Cool Ranch Doritos tortilla chips contain milk, cheese, and other dairy products. They also contain refined sugar that is very likely processed with animal bone char. If you’re in the mood for some chips but want to avoid animal products, you’re better off with a bag of plain potato chips.

Are Nacho Cheese Doritos Vegan?

No. Nacho Cheese Doritos contain dairy products, such as whey protein concentrate, cheddar cheese, skim milk, romano cheese, and buttermilk.

These chips are not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Flamin’ Hot Cool Ranch Doritos Vegan?

No. Flamin’ Hot Cool Ranch Doritos contain dairy products and sugar.

These chips are not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Flamin’ Hot Limon Doritos Vegan?

No. These Doritos contain dairy products, such as whey, cheddar cheese, whey protein concentrate, romano cheese, and buttermilk.

These chips are not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos Vegan?

No. These Doritos contain sugar and other questionable ingredients.

These chips are not safe for vegan consumption.

Are Simply Organic White Cheddar Doritos Vegan?

No. This product contains several dairy products.

These tortilla chips are not safe for vegan consumption.

Vegan Alternatives to Cool Ranch Doritos

Craving some crunchy, savory, and slightly sweet Doritos but don’t want to support the animal agriculture industry? No problem! There are plenty of vegan alternatives to Cool Ranch Doritos. Here are some of my favorites:

These chips are either marked as vegan or are accidentally vegan (contain no animal-derived ingredients). No need to be missing your favorite flavor of Doritos when there are so many delicious vegan options!

Final Words

So there you have it! Cool Ranch Doritos are, unfortunately, not vegan. These chips contain dairy products that make them unsuitable for vegans. Luckily, there are still plenty of other vegan-friendly tortilla chips to choose from. But, as always, be sure to check the ingredients list before purchasing any food product, even if it’s marketed as vegan.